Days 12, 13, 14 and 15

Standard

Okay, sorry. I’ve been fighting a bout of food poisoning, while trying to do all these interviews so I’ve missed a few days. (Smile) So, Saturday. I was elected to the Television Critic’s Association Board, which is very cool. It means a bit more work, but it’s also a great honor. It was a hotly contested race, and I was ecstatic to be voted in the first go around.

My presentations for the Outstanding Children’s Award at the TCA event that night went fine. It’s very formal, so I had to pretend to be very professional. (Smile) It wasn’t easy. I was up till three in the morning chatting with my buddy Jax. She’s a hoot, and as soon as I can remember her new book title I’ll tell you to read it.

Woke up early Sunday morning for FOX, which was here with their new and some returning shows. That first day was when the food poisoning hit, so it’s all a bit of a blur. I do remember seeing Kelsey Grammer and Patricia Heaton for their new comedy Back to You. The K-Ville gang was here along with the New Amsterdam (I really love that show) hottie. The gang from Bones was also here, and that David Boreanaz is as cute as ever. The next day was the Sarah Connor Chronicles, a show with some kick butt chicks including Summer Glau (“Firefly”). It’s super dark, but I really enjoyed that show. Julianne Marguelies was here for Cantebury’s Law. She’s interesting, but I’m kind of done with law shows. (Except DAMAGES on FX, which you should totally check out.) At lunch the Family Guy cast did a table read for us, and it was an absolute hoot. And Amy Sherman Palladino (Gilmore Girls Creator) was here with her new show The Return of Jezebel James. (I kind of liked this one, though I’ve heard mixed reviews.)

But the big news, and you guys will be so proud, is I went up to talk to HUGH LAURIE (House). Well, let me be truthful, I was in the scrum surrounding him. But I held my recorder up, and he looked me in the eyes and smiled. Really, and he didn’t smile at everyone. (For those of you who don’t know, I’m in total lust over the guy and it’s really hard for me to talk to him.) We had our moment, and I know he was thinking, “I’m going to leave my lovely family and whisk this woman off to the Bahamas because she has a beautiful smile.” It’s amazing what a man can say with his eyes. (Smile)

Today was set visits and I promise to tell you more about that later. I must go off and enjoy my Hugh Haze….

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. *hugs* on the food poisoning. I hope you feel better today.

    What is the Sarah Connor Chronicles? Isn’t that the name of LInda Hamilton’s character in the Terminator movies? And *swoon* re Hugh Laurie!

  2. I’m really impressed with the Hugh Laurie thing, but my eyes really bulged at “Amy Sherman Palladino” (RIP, Gilmore!) and Summer Glau (totally didn’t realize she was in the Sarah Connor Chronicles).

    I really do think you have the coolest life.

  3. You know, I think I hate you a little bit more every day. Sorry. That’s just the insane jealousy talking LOL You know I think you rock. I absolutely L-O-V-E Hugh Laurie. “House” is appointment TV for me.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  4. Hugh

    Congrats on your Hugh moment! I’ve developed a Hugh “thing” myself, although I’m not sure why. He’s one of those men who’s not conventionally good looking, but on the other hand he’s very attractive. The accent doesn’t hurt anything either! Just has that…”thing” about him I guess. I can totally see swooning when he smiled at you (and ONLY you!)

    I just finished reading his book – The Gun Seller (published in 96…I think). It was actually quite good. Intricate plot and often very very funny. Although, I have to confess, it’s got all this…..British talk that left me going…uhhh…hunh? a few times. Had to re-read the sentence to translate into American (heh!). Check it out if you haven’t already. I think I saw somewhere he has another book coming out this fall.?. I would assume it’s the same character continued, but really don’t know.

    Continued fun….

    N.

Leave a Reply

