Press Tour Day Ten

Standard

Today was the second CBS day. It began with Jericho. For those of you who don’t know, Jericho was canceled last spring. Fans were so upset that they began a whole campaign. Three weeks later CBS renewed the show for seven more episodes. Skeet Ulrich, Lennie James and Ashley Scott talked about how cool it was to be so beloved, and what they planned to do with the show. And exec producer Carol Barbee gave some insights into where the show will be going. I watched the first season finale last night, and it’s a really powerful show. I’ll be buying the DVD to watch that first season.

Mark Burnett was here for Survivor China. But one of my favorites of the day was Drew Carey with Power of 10. It’s a new game show, and though I’m not a very big fan of the genre, I really liked this one. It measures what America things about different topics and the contestants have to guess what percentage of Americans think a certain way. It’s so incredibly interesting, and scary at the same time when you see some of the answers. The Gang from Viva Laughlin was here. That’s the new series with Hugh Jackman, Lloyd Owen, DB Woodside and Madchen Amick where everyone sings. A rip on Viva Blackpool from the BBC.

The CBS Party tonight was pretty cool. I talked with the vampire guy, Alex O’Loughlin from “Moonlight.” He has a great accent. I ran into my new crush Jim Parsons from The Big Bang Theory, and I told him I was crushing on him. He’s SO SWEET. Exactly what you would think he would be when you watch him on the show. Jimmy Smits had some really interesting things to say about his new show. He’s so cute too. And I talked to a couple of other people but my brains so tired, I can’t remember. :-) They had fried candy bars, dippin dots, donuts. And tons of other bad stuff. I was actually good. I had strawberries with whip cream. I didn’t want to fall into a diabetic coma in front of Jimmy Smits. :-)

So today I want to know… Would you want to be really smart with a great job? Or incredibly beautiful, and rich but stupid? I know there are lots of pretty smart people, but this time you have to choose.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. damn good question but I am thinking the money and smarts could buy what I needed to become beautiful… on the outside but since I think the mind is the sexiest organ in the body I would go for smart. Smart may not be pretty at 16 but it is very hot at 70

  2. I was SO pleased they Jericho back. Now if they would just get Jake and Heather to hook up instead of that blonde chick I can’t stand….

    As for today’s question, smart is infinitely better than stupid. If I’m smart with a great job I can get rich myself. *g*

  3. I’m already smart with a great job! I guess it wouldn’t hurt to be smarter and have the job be even greater :)

    Ditto on Jericho, Jake and Heather (speaking of smart girls).

  4. Smart with a great job. I don’t think even when the moment comes that I want to check oot that I really want to check out or at least not for that long. Although maybe if you are stupid then you live more blissfully b/c you are simply unaware that you are stupid and the havoc that can cause around you.

    regardless, I take smart and great job.

    • Re: Lina Esco

      See Jim Parsons new sitcom called The Big Bang Theory. I am hearing some great things about the Fall show called The Big Bang Theory on Mondays on CBS. The critics love it and think it is
      very,very funny. Everyone who has seen the pilot loves it. It comes from Two and Half Men’s Chuck Lorre. This could be the next hit show.
      See clips from the show

      here :

      http://www.cbs.com/primetime/big_bang_theory/

      or see clips here :

Leave a Reply

