Press Tour Day Nine

Standard

CBS was at the helm today. What can I tell you? Um, Jimmy Smits was here with Cane. It’s kind of a Cuban “Dallas” meets “The Godfather.” Interesting, but I can’t tell how soapy it’s going to be from the pilot. Rita Moreno is in it and the lovely Hector Elizondo. There’s not a more elegant man alive than Hector. And he’s a great dancer. Nestor Carbonell (“Lost”), Lina Esco, Michael Trevino (Hottie alert), Eddie Matos and Paola Turbay also star in that one. There was a Shark press conference and James Woods pretty much ate up the room. So much so that Jeri Ryan just sat there. Neil Patrick Harris and the exec producers from How I Met Your Mother were here. That show is funny. I can never remember when it’s on, but it is funny.

There’s Kid Nation, which is a reality show where the kids take over a ghost town and set up their own government. I couldn’t be less interested. I don’t like seeing little kids cry and there seems to be a lot of that. Moonlight is the new vampire detective show, which will air after Ghost Whisperer. Alex O’Loughlin (You say his last name like locklin. I like for you guys to be in the know.) :-) David Greenwalt from “Angel” is exec producing that one along with Joel Silver. Jason Dohring from Veronica Mars is in it, Shannyn Sossamon (A Knight’s Tale) and Sophia Myles (Underworld) are in it. And just so you know Sophia is said like So feye ya. Then came the crew from The Big Ban Theory. It’s a new comedy from Chuck Lorre (Two and Half Men) about really smart guys/nerds, who hangout with their blond bombshell neighbor. I have a huge crush on Jim Parsons, who plays the straight man to most of the jokes. He’s absolutely brilliant and makes me laugh.

Okay, so I made a slight miscalculation today. (Clears throat.) I had a two hour break. The first since I’ve been here and I needed to get some exercise in. So I headed to the pool. I only managed three hours sleep last night, I have no idea why, and I needed to refresh and reboot my brain. Any way so my friend Allison is there and we’re chatting. Next thing I know we’ve been out there about an hour. No big.

Until tonight. About five o’clock my friends start saying, “Candy you’re beginning to glow.” I could feel the heat coming off my body. I really do glow, probably in the dark. I wasn’t out for that long and I couldn’t think of how it would happen so fast. Then I remembered my pharmacist saying, “These antibiotics are really strong and may make you sun sensitive.” I finished them over a week ago, but I guess he didn’t lie. :-)

Anyhoo. I’ve actually been working on the anthology and plan to do more tonight. I have to order some room service first, and I’m thinking about splurging in a big way.

So if you could be a vampire, werewolf or witch, which would you be? You know my answer.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. I’m with you on that one Candy. A witch all the way! And Moonlight sounded interesting enough, but the minute you said Jason Dohring, I was like, DING!!! I’m sooooo there. It has been upgraded to appointment TV!!

  2. were coyote. a coyote is my totem animal and he has always given me a sense of play… Plus, I could not live with out the sun…
    BTW do you hve another Pen name? I read a bood formated just likd yours only you didn’t write it… I know this because it wasn’t very good.
    Anyway… I is good to add you too my friends I love the Dior romance twist you put and the fun spirit. you know I got your first book the day it went on sale… I got an interest letter from Amazon that said I might like it… I loved it… You so ROCK!!!

  3. Stephen and I enjoy garlic too much to be a vampire. Toss up on the werewolf and witch perhaps. do not know enough about the werewolf to decide.

Leave a Reply

