Look out Hollywood

Standard

So I’m here. Staying at the Beverly Hilton. My room is smaller than last time, but totally lux, so I won’t whine too much. The official start is tomorrow around nine, but tonight PBS held a party at the Griffith Observatory. It was pretty cool. High above the city, and lots of telescopes. It was hazy, so a little tough to see the stars. Oh, wait I did see Marg Helgenberger (CSI) at the party. She was there with her hubby, Alan Rosenberg, who is doing something for PBS. And I think Liam Neeson is in the room down from mine. I love his voice. I’m getting ready to check and see why he’s here.

Did I mention my cab driver got lost and charged me an extra $15. I don’t normally do this, but I considered that his tip. I gave him the address and it’s on Wilshire, which is a very well known street. Was I bad? Have you guys ever shorted tips on bad service?

And I want to know which of the fall shows you are interested in…

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. One time while my best friend and I were at lunch at Ruby Tuesday we left the waitress a 2 cent tip. We were about 16 years old at the time and the entire time we were there, she talked to us in a baby voice and treated us like we were children. It was extremely irritating and insulting.

    I can’t remember all of the fall shows that are new right now, but I know there were a few I wanted to check out. The one I do remember that I must watch is “Pushing Daisies.” The one about the guy who could bring the dead back to life with his touch and when he touches him again they go back to being dead. It looks morbidly amusing.

  2. I know you are going to be busy, but have a great time. If you see Liam Neeson… Well, ogle him for me.

    I have been known to short the tip. I know that service industry people rely on tips, but it is a “Service Industry” and I expect to get the service I pay for! Especially at a restaurant. Cabbies are infamous for the “getting lost” trick. Most of my travel is to DC. Those drivers are all over the place all day long and know the shortest route when they need to because they want to get to a busy cab stand for more fares! I have at least figured out the shortest ways to my normal stops! Controlled fares also help.

    Heroes, Candy. Heroes! Oh, and CSI, Medium, Numbers, House, Raines and Studio 60 (are they coming back?), Without a Trace, NCIS, Criminal Minds, and Grey’s Anatomy. Oh, and is Army Wives strictly a summer series?

    I like too many TV shows… Thank goodness for TiVo

  3. Shorting a Tip

    That’s crazy to charge you for the cabbie getting lost!!!! Good for you for not giving a tip. Here’s a tip for the Cabbie….learn the way around!

  4. Hooray!

    I loved the 1st episode of Supernatural. I just watched it last night on my Tivo. Been at an Anime con all weekend that is local- driving too and fro because I was a dealer at it.

    Yay Candy for doing so much writing!!!

Leave a Reply

