Big Guys

Standard

Funny how some days have themes without any planning whatsoever. :-) Today I interviewed Kevin Sorbo (“Hercules,” “Andromeda,” “The O.c.”) and Eric Braeden (“The Young and the Restless). Both men are extremely tall, muscular and are starring in westerns. And I think they are both darn good looking. :-) Weird how that happens sometimes.

It’s official. I have a new deal from Berkley to do a new series. Happy Dance all around!

I love that almost everyone who reads this blog is a Nancy Drew fan. I have more advice from “Nancy Drew’s Guide to Life.”

“When forging a letter to nab a perp, be sure to use grammar and spelling appropriate to the education level of the person you’re impersonating.” –The Ghost of Blackwood Hall

And also from The Ghost of Blackwood Hall: “When confused, sit back and try to arrange the facts into some kind of order.”

Man, that Nancy always knows what to do.

I also watch the tv series for Nancy D. and the Hardy Boys. In fact, I have them on DVD. I’m going to go watch them now. :-)

So what is your all time favorite mystery series, Books, Films or Television? You pick.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. Hi Candace,
    Congrats on the Berkley deal!*raining confetti*

    This is a bit dorky,my favorite mystery series is Scooby Doo.*g*
    Hugs, Danette

  2. I learned two very helpful things from my grade-school Nancy Drew obsession:

    One was that when she was being kidnapped or otherwise hauled away by someone, she always went limp, like she’d fainted. Then because they thought she’d fainted, they loosened their grip on her, and then she was able to escape. I actually put that one to work on the playground when some bigger kids were picking on me, and it totally worked.

    Then another thing was that when she was kidnapped (I think that happened once per book) or was being held against her will, if she was facing a person’s back, she’d stare really hard at a spot between their shoulderblades to make them uncomfortable. I don’t know for sure if that really works, but I used it all the time.

    I know I was always frustrated with how slowly her relationship with Ned moved. I kept trying to find the last book in the series and flipped straight to the end to see if they were finally really together. Little did I know there was no end because they just kept going.

    My favorite mystery author is Dick Francis, but he doesn’t really write series. I guess other than that, I loved Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael series.

  3. That Nancy Drew’s Guide to Life book sounds like a hoot!

    My favorite mystery series? For books, I’d have a really, really, really hard time making a choice because there are so many. Films? The Thin Man series. Television? Would The Avengers and The New Avengers count? Remington Steele was a favorite. And I love some of the shows on PBS’ Mystery! series. Oh! And I adore Midsomer Murders which airs on Biography now.

  4. Congratulations on the book deal!!! :-)

    You lucky duck getting to intervew Kevin Sorbo (the hunk). I remember thinking when I was young how sexy Eric’s character on the Young & the Restless was. I remember watching David Hasslehoff on it too when he played Snapper (Nikki’s big brother who was a doctor).

    I think my all time favorite TV series is M*A*S*H. It’s timeless in its premise. War is war and it’s always hell, so you might as well make the best of it.

Leave a Reply

