The journey

Standard

As a writer you live for moments like these:

hi candace
i just finished reading your new book charmed and deadly i love it so much and can’t wait for more to come out… you are the best writer ever. –VaRsHA

It isn’t just the praise, which trust me we all like, it’s that someone took that ride with me and they got it. She went to the bookstore, bought the book, sat down and read it. And I entertained her. Its one person and I still want to jump around and yell whoohooo!

Conversely when people write mean, nasty things, it breaks your heart. But I’m trying to focus on the good. There’s so much in this business that you can’t control. Like which stores will take your books and how many. Or what reviewers say. (So far it’s been pretty darn good in that respect.) :-) But when people who love to read, say they love your book, well that’s better than a chocolate cupcake – with sprinkles.

You guys would be proud. I finally learned how to prick my fingers and arm to test the blood sugar so that it doesn’t hurt. It only took me an hour. :-) The doc gave me a cute little kit, and I figured it out all on my own.

I want to know what you guys are doing this weekend? I hope some of you local folk will be a the booksigning.

And what’s your favorite flower? I’m having a tough time with this one. I think it’s freesia, but I’m fond of antique roses.

:-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. Yay! For figuring out how to take your blood sugar without hurting yourself. I still find it hard to believe that they’ve made those tests not hurt. *shudders with childhood recollection of the pricking of my fingers*

    Favorite Flower – I’m torn between Lilacs, Lavender, or Orchids.

  2. I used to hate hate hate doing blood sugar tests because my fingers would get so sore it was hard to type or even hold a pen. I love the new ones where you can prick your fingers, your arm, and now I use the heel of my hand. Hardly hurts at all.

    Favorite flowers? Hmm. Roses, of course, but that’s so cliche. :) I’m also very fond of wildflowers, especially bluebonnets.

  3. I had gestational diabetes and noone taught me how to pirk myself with out pain. It’s good to hear that it doesn’t hurt everyone.:)
    This weekend is full of kid parties and baseball..hopefully some reading in between *g*

    I love yellow tulips,nice and simple.

    Hugs, Danette

  4. Hope the booksigning is soo crowded you can’t keep up! The e-HQN group invited me to join for lunch, but I don’t know if I can make it. However, I will be stopping by if I can and will definitely be at B&N for my book!

    Best wishes for Saturday!

Leave a Reply

