Oh, just stuff

Standard

A lot’s happened since we last spoke. :-) They’ve moved up the release of the mass market Charmed & Dangerous to December 2007. I’m told it has a cool new cover, but haven’t seen it yet. There’s good stuff happening behind the scenes but it’s not 100 percent confirmed, but keep thinking those good thoughts about the proposals I sent in. I hope to have good news about that very soon for you.

I woke up in a panic this morning with the debut of Charmed & Deadly just a few weeks away. I do that. I’ve been so busy working on other projects that it kind of surprised me. I hired an intern last night to help me with a lot of the PR, so I’m hoping maybe I can do a big push here over the next few weeks. You guys can help by visiting or calling your local bookstores and asking for Charmed & Deadly. And telling all your friends about it. Everyone thinks that publishers do a lot of advertising and marketing for books, but that’s really just for the top 10 percent. Think King, Roberts, Patterson. The rest of us do it on our own. :-) We rely on word of mouth more than anything.

Oh, I have a contest running on Freshfiction.com for May. It’s for a $25 Amazon gift certificate. You should enter right away. I’ll be doing one in June too.

There was something else fun I wanted to tell you but can’t remember for the life of me.

Did you watch American Idol last night? Jordan gave me chills she sang so sweet. And I adore Blake. And how about Heroes? What did you think of the finale? Did I tell you guys I’ve seen some of the NBC pilots? Bionic Woman, while technically I can’t give a review, I can say my husband thought it was so cool. And he and I agree on a lot of things. ;-)

So what do you guys like to do on a three-day weekend? I would lay by the pool if I had one. I love swimming. And reading. I love to read. I’m thinking about tackling our junkroom upstairs, but I’m not sure I have the energy. :-)

The new bed is working out great. I’ve slept five hours straight two nights in a row. That hasn’t happened in more than 10 years. My husband and I were skeptical about the tempurpedic, but we may be fans very soon.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

6 responses »

  1. I’m just hoping that I have energy to do something this weekend!!

    Love Blake, I hope he wins. Don’t care that he’s not as great a singer as Jordan, he’s original. He’s the first person in 6 seasons, that if he wins, I would go and buy his album (the only other one I’ve bought is Daughtry and Elliot Yamin, both non-winners).

    Heroes. All I can say is that Peter better be back. And how cute are Micah and Molly??

  2. what msorange said–micaah and molly are ADORABLE! The kid and I cried at the end of Heroes! *sigh* but having Hiro show up in Feudal Japan was a nice way to not have it end on a total downer. Sadly, I don’t think Peter will be back but I’m okay with that (and the teaser for the baddie that is worse than sylar was nice).

    I think Jordin’s got it wrapped up but let’s see how the people vote. I went to bed early and DVR’ed LAO: SVU’s season finale and I’m going to watch it today before I head off for the docs!

  3. I have a FOUR day weekend and I am quite excited. New treadmill is coming; I might get some work done around the house that could be productive; might see a pregnant friend. Perhaps get a new keg on tap.

    Currently watching a Penn and Teller show that includes parts in Jefferson, TX. I would say the name of the show, previously on Showtime, but it is a bad word.

  4. Heroes – I’m not sure that Peter won’t be back, but I’m hoping that there is a way to bring back his brother. I just can’t imagine Sylar getting to serve as a false elected leader – noooooo. Micah and Molly were too cute. And Hiro… well he will soon test his metal. Could be the proving ground that allows him to come back and do Sylar in. What about Simone’s father. That was tooo weird. But they sure are keeping it interesting.

    I have a 4 day weekend but may only take a 3 day. I am really behind after dealing with family stuff for the past month. I need a vacation. My kid’s stress has decreased (her acne has gone away – proof that stress can cause acne in teenagers!). Trouble is that I’m getting it. I need Calgon to take me away!!!

  5. I’ve got a four day weekend too,I don’t have to wake up to bring the kids to school,this mom is sleeping in. Hopefully I can finish reading He Loves Me,He Loves Me Hot by Stephanie Rowe. I’m trying to get out to the beach as long as the weather stays nice,its been overcast in the islands lately,plus my husband has a baseball game on Sunday,so the kids will get to play at the park.*g* I also have Anna Campbell guest bloggin with me on friday if anyone wants to come by.Happy Memorial Weekend!
    Hugs, Danette
    http://nenscl.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

