Sometimes I Lie

Standard

Okay, so I went to the doc again on Friday. Sinus infection, Mono. Old news. But she gave me some new drugs that worked amazingly fast. I mean like four hours later I felt like a new person. I promised her I would rest for at least five days. Seriously be a couch potato.

But I lied.

On Saturday I woke up feeling better than I had in months. And even had energy. My husband had planned to plant roses and flowers he bought, but he asked out of the blue if I wanted to go to CAPE. It’s an event I told him about a couple of weeks ago where 100s of comic book writers and artists come and draw, autograph and chat. They raise a ton of money for kids in hospitals. I said yes, and we woke up the boys (before noon, much grumbling) and headed to Dallas.

OMG. It was too much fun. I mean it. Tons of tables with the writers and artists from all over the place. I met a couple of my heroes including Gail Simone who writes the Birds of Prey comic and will be writing Wonder Woman this fall. And Mercedes Lackey, who has published more than 50 fantasy novels was there with her husband, Larry Dixon, who was selling his beautiful Art. Roberto Aguirre Sacasa who writes Fantastic Four was there. And tons of others. I also met some new folks. Kristian Donaldson who does Fallen Angels. And David Mack who does Kabuki. And I can’t remember the rest. I love comics because it’s where art and words come together to form a whole different thing. They’re just cool.

So then… The big plan was to come home and rest. We dropped the youngest off at paintball. The older one had a date. Steve went to bed early because he’d been up for 24 hours straight. So I plopped down on the couch and watched MIssion Organization on HGTV, which totally inspired me to clean. I cleaned the kitchen, breakfast room, living room and yes, my office. That’s right, my office. AND I finished re-reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. (I’d forgotten so much of that story.) I finally went to bed at four a.m.

Then I woke up at noon on Sunday and made chicken and dumplings, cleaned off my desk and so many loads of laundry I lost count. I wrote some music reviews for popysyndicate.com and one my columns for work.

So that was my restful weekend.

What did you do?

:-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. My goodness. It would take me a month to even THINK about trying to do all the cleaning you did. I give you major props for that.

    But slap on the wrist for not resting!!! (Hope you are still feeling better though.)

    My “restful” weekend consisted of a bachelorette party for my best friend at the “drag queen capital of the world” Lucky Chengs in NYC, running around to see if I could find a dressmaker to fix a bridesmaid gown emergency last minute, and finishing a take home exam due this afternoon.

    I. Am. Tired.

  2. I’m so confused! I realize they say the same thing, but which one do you want to get comments on? (whine) This blog or MySpace? Should I do it twice or not? Oh, the trouble with having an indecisive day!

    This weekend was pretty laid back for me. Saturday I attended my RWA meeting. I went home and worked on my WIP between loads of laundry. I got in a lot of hours. Sunday, I worked on the WIP some more, did some more laundry, and went to bed after 1am this morning. I look at the WIP and wonder – what did I do? I typed and typed and typed… Well, I added many pages. :-)

  3. It’s Wednesday. I didn’t do anything on the weekend (planted some new things in my flower bed in an attempt to fill up all the spaces with flowers rather than weeds), but Monday, we went to Galveston for a few days. It was fun.

    And I’ve tagged you to tell us 8 things we don’t know about you. You can find the rules on my blog ( http://magysty.blogspot.com ). Look forward to hearing what you say. :)

    Gail Dayton

Leave a Reply

