Saturday

Standard

My children are trying to kill me with stress. I swear they are. They’re such good kids, but sometimes I really want to beat them and lock them in a closet. (I wouldn’t, but I do think about it.)

So, let’s think happy thoughts. Big breath. My friend Rosemary Clement-Moore has a book signing today from 2-4 p.m. at the Lone Star Comics on Mockingbird in Dallas. If you’re in that area stop by. I’ll be there with bells on. Not really bells, but flip flops and jeans for sure. :-)

I wrote a story about Ali Larter this week and it gave me a new idea for a book. I’m keeping a file of ideas now, because I’m worried about forgetting.

So I have a couple of crazy questions for you today…

1. When putting on makeup what do you put on first?

2. What’s the silliest thing you’ve done in the last couple of weeks?

To the first, it’s always foundation, eyes are last.

To the second, I tried to take the test that the Are You Smarter Than A Fifth Grader folks sent in a press packet, and I barely made it thru the first grade. I’m wonding if I’ve ever even known what heptagon is. ;-) I did get all the English questions right. I have a feeling when I grow up I might want to be a writer or something…

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

9 responses »

  1. I definitely go for foundation first. Eyes next and I save lips for last.

    The silliest thing I’ve done…um…there’s so much to chose from! Probably downloaded a couple of free games. I try to keep the computer game free so I don’t have so much to distract me, but I admit I was weak. And now I’m determined to make my way through Elite Mahjong….*headdesk*

  2. Silliest thing?

    I totally messed up the schedule for my critique group. AFTER the intense discussion about how the schedule would change. Someone, very politely and with a great deal of courage, pointed out my mistake–I had left someone off the schedule.

    Makeup?
    moisturizer. foundation. blush. mascara. eyeshadow. lipstick. powder.

    Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader?

    I took that test. Got ’em all correct except that damn prime number thingy. I believe that they made a MISTAKE.

  3. 1. Foundation. Eyeliner/shadow. Mascara. Lipliner/Lipstick. If I use blush, that goes on last. Smae routine every time!

    2. It’s not silly really, but me and my mom busted through the first 6 seaons of ER in like a month and a half. That’s like 144 hours of TV or 6 days straight.

  4. Interesting!

    HI,CANDY

    This is your Aunt Winona–
    I check your BLOG occasionally, and am especially interested in your comments on your family– and mine. Thanks for the updates. I found Kyle’s e-mail, picture of ship etc. very interesting. We hear from Gay Lynn occasionally. During last week’s bad weather in FWD, kept checking to see if you all were OK.

    Looking forward to your new book! Regards to all the Clarks.

    Love,

    Aunt Winona

  5. 1. sunblock. I’m paraniod about wrinkling. :-)

    2. Umm… yeah. Too stressed out to remember last week. ;-) Sounds like I’m not the only one.

    Good luck on your no sugar thing. Diets have kicked my butt these last two years. I need to find an easier plan than no sugar. I know you can do it! :-) You are really strong willed.

    Delilah

  6. I rarely put on foundation,so the eye shadow goes on first for me.

    The silliest thing I’ve done this week is I was introducing myself to a group and I said (on accident) that I was 27 not 28.

    My children were actually good for me this morning,I got to sleep in ’til 11 a.m. and they were playing quietly.

    Hugs, Danette

  7. 1) Makeup – Foundation if I’m wearing it that day or concealer. Depends on how bad the eye circles are. :-)
    2) Silliest thing? Comparing strange abilities with my son. For example, he can wiggle his ears and I can’t. I can flare my nose like a rabbit without moving lips and he can’t. What a way to spend time, huh?

  8. Hey, Candy–

    I rarely remember to put on makeup–except on Sundays–anyway, foundation goes on first. I don’t wear eye makeup, ’cause it doesn’t show behind the glasses anyway. :)

    Silliest thing I’ve done–I think I started reading a trilogy–3-books-in-1–at about 2 p.m. on a Saturday, and stayed up all night to finish it. It was really good. (The Black Jewels trilogy by Anne Bishop.) Most of my silliness tends to fall into that category.

Leave a Reply

