Sooo…

Standard

I’m guessing my body was trying to tell me, “You’re going to be very sick for the next 48 hours” when I couldn’t sleep the other night. I’ll spare you the details, but it is a stomach flu I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemies. (I don’t know if I have enemies, but if I did, I’d still want to spare them.) I’m doing better today as long as I don’t eat anything but Ramen noodles and bananas, and not at the same time. :-)

My friend Jenny sent back her revision notes for my YA, and I’m excited. She really liked it and had some stellar ideas on how to improve it. It’s such a relief for someone to tell you that, “Yes, you’ve written a good book.” I don’t care how far into this game you are, the insecurities can be overwhelming.

I’ve been writing and then lying/laying (I can never figure that one out) on the couch. I did read High School Bites by Liza Conrad yesterday afternoon. It’s a fun book and a fast read. I had plans to read more, but I ended up watching a marathon of “Work Out” on Bravo. If I hadn’t been so sick, I probably would have gotten up and exercised. I was that inspired. And of course I was totally drawn in by all the drama behind-the-scenes.

Do you guys watch American Idol? I don’t usually, but my youngest and I have been keeping up this season. Since he sings, we’re always curious about who makes it and why. I don’t like to talk trash, but I have to fast forward on the DVR through a couple of the finalists. It just makes me cringe.

Today I want to know about guilty pleasures for television. I have a fondness for Pimp My Ride, Girls Next Door, MTV Cribs, and Australia’s Next Top Model marathons. Since I don’t watch on a regular basis, I like it when they have five or six in a row.

So what’s your TV guilty pleasure?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. I’d have to say my primary guilty pleasure is Deal or No Deal. It’s really the simplest premise for a game show. Pick a briefcase and hope it contains the million dollar prize while you eliminate all the other cases and hope they DON’T contain the million while the “banker” periodically tries to buy your case for the least amount of money possible. But the show is darn addictive!

  2. My daughter likes watching American Idol too….I love watching Ace of Cakes on foodtv, I don’t care for fondant myself, but what those guys make with it are works of art.
    Hugs, Danette

  3. I hope you feel better soon. Stomach flu is no fun.

    Secret TV pleasure? Any Paula Deen cooking/travel show. She is soooo Southern ya’ll. She amuses me.

    Oh, it is kind of disgusting how much money that goes into these parties, but MY SUPER SWEET SIXTEEN, I think it’s on MTV. I watch because I just cannot believe parents spend that kind of money for a kid that is already so spoiled. I mean $500,000 for a party plus a new EXPENSIVE car?

  4. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I still have phlegm in my throat–couldn’t sleep for several hours for a while, because I kept having to clear my throat–but I feel fine, otherwise, and this has been going on for four days.

    I don’t watch most of my guilty pleasures regularly, but I like to catch episodes of Cheaters, Ace of Cakes, Rachael Ray, The Tyra Banks Show, Video Justice, House Hunters, and Judge Judy.

Leave a Reply

