Okay sooooo

Standard

Today was fun. I hung out at the Middle School and told four classes in a row why they had to study hard, stay in school and be good. So they can have a job like mine where they work in their PJ’s all day. I’m pretty sure I inspired a few of them. At the end I always let them ask questions about any celebrity and it’s kind of funny to see who eighth graders are interested in… Everyone from Miley Cyrus aka Hannah Montana to 50 Cent. Cracks me up.

Any hoo… Afterwards me and my buddy Rosemary who was also at career Day doing here thing, went to B&N so I could spend my GC. I picked up the MJ and Cathy Spangler anthology about Demons, and Icon on CD. I also loaded up on fashion and home magazines…

It’s a good thing I have reading material since I JUST found out that tomorrow, you know that day I thought I had off, will be spent with my son at NATS auditioning for some singing competition. You have to love your kids, I swear. No really, I mean you HAVE TO, but sometimes they drive me nuts. It’s been one of those weeks where they both have pushed buttons I didn’t even know I had. ;-)

I’m actually very excited about getting to read my friend Jenny’s new book she’s working on and Rosemary’s new project. They both sent me pages to look at, and I can’t wait to read them.

The question today is: If you had to pick a movie that would describe your life, what would it be? Mine would be the Wizard of Oz meets Pulp Fiction. (You think I’m kidding.) :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

9 responses »

  1. My daughter competes at NATS tonight (she’s in the musical theatre group). I wish him good luck tomorrow. That is a tough competition.

    A movie to reflect my life??? I wish it was Practical Magic, but…

    I’ll have to get back to you on that one. I am completely without a thought on the subject. :-)

    Although, I do have someone that I would like to see sinking to the bottom of a river with weights on them. Hmmm. Nah… not worth it.

  2. I think mine would be Twister meets The Carol Burnett Show. Only instead of that little old man Tim Conway used to play, it’s me hobbling along at a snail’s pace. *g*

  3. If I said the Matrix would you laugh? *ggg* Heck I dunno. It’s pretty crazy seomtimes but it’s good so I guess that’s all that matters. Maybe Oceans 11–twisted and quirky with flashes of brilliant humor.

  4. I read your post and then asked my sister what movie described my life.

    She said: It’s a Wonderful Life (who knew??)

    Then after a very short pause she added: meets Pulp Fiction.

    Yanno, I think she’s right.

  5. I love the idea of inspiring kids to do great things with their lives.

    Your son sings? Wish I could! Heck! I wish I could schmooze with celebrities like you do! You have a cool family!

    Name just about any movie where someone fights for their rights, with the majority fighting that person, and that’s how I feel about much of my life, albeit not quite so dramatic, and not always with a happy ending. Combine it with Cinderella, in that I fantasize about my ideal life a lot; probably throw in a Rob Schneider movie, because I can be kind of goofy and get a lot of crap (again, without the happy ending); a slasher horror flick, because I suffer from panic disorder; Anger Management, because sometimes I get frustrated and want to tear my hair out (or better yet, someone else’s); and 13 Going on 30, because sometimes I still feel like a kid, and can be silly and funny.

Leave a Reply

