crazy stuff

Standard

So I finished my YA. You heard me. I turned in a book less than two weeks ago, and now this. I have been waiting so long to work on this book, that it just fell out of my head. The revisions went fast and so there ya go. I sent it to my friend Jenny Archer, and she sent me some of her new book to read. I’m very excited about that. Jenny’s great at telling me if it’s a real book, and if my characters are developed enough.

I’ve also been blogging on romanticinks.com/blog I have another one up there today if you want to check it out. And I just posted my weirdest paranormal experience to the http://witchychicks.blogspot.com/ site. And I’ve been working on features about Larry King and the new show Drive with Nathan Fillion. That guy makes me laugh, actually they both do.

And I listened to Maximum Ride a YA by James Patterson, which started out kind of slow but ended up being really, really cool. I also read Jennifer Echols “Major Crush.” Another wonderful YA. Talk about some great character development. That chick has it going on.

I’m still fighting the crud, but am better today. I’m headed to a Middle School Career Day tomorrow to talk about why it’s great to wear pajamas to work. :-) (I plan to wash my hands a lot. Kids that age are so germy.) And I have to fit radio in somehow. I’m not really sure how that’s going to work, but I’ll figure it out.

So I want to know what are you guys reading? Give me suggestions for spending my B&N gift cards… :-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

14 responses »

  1. For pleasure: Let’s see… I just finished “Causing Havoc” by Lori Foster. My first time reading her. Not to bad a story. I am now reading “Ring” by Koji Suzuki – the book that the movies “Ringu” (the Japanese original) and “The Ring” (American) were taken from.

    For school: Currently reading Shakespeare’s “Cymbeline”. Bleh. On the upside, I am also reading Leslie Marmon Silko’s “Ceremony”, a great book from 1979 about an American Indian trying to come to terms with his life after the Vietnam War. One of the few books I have actually fallen in love with during my college years.

  2. Be still my Vampire Heart by Kerrlyn Sparks, and the new Karen Chance novel that is coming out on the 3rd (on it’s way here) and Amanda Quick’s new book… and Keri Arthur’s Tempting Evil (shapeshifters and vampires, oh my!)

    • Wow! Those are the books I’m reading too. But I guess it is not too great a coincidence because they just came out this week. I am also reading Kitty Takes a Holiday by Carrie Vaughn.

      • LOL

        I just finished that book by Carrie Vaughn before I read the other ones.
        Great minds think alike!!! You should check out MaryJanice Davidson’s books.. they are great.

  3. My boyfriend was too sick to go out last weekend, so I hope he takes me out this weekend, because I know there’s a bunch of new books out. I’m sure I won’t be able to afford them all, but I gotta get what I can!

    I’m not reading at the moment, but the first of the Immortals series will be out soon, and it sounds promising.

  4. Congratulations on finishing the YA!! I was in B&N last night. My daughter was looking for one act plays so she can direct her final six weeks theatre project. She has a NATS competition tomorrow night. I just love sitting around for hours waiting for results! My son’s Middle School boys choir got sweepstakes at UIL today. They were so proud. They beat both girls choirs (who went to TMEA last year as a select choir.)

    Reading? Who’s got time to read? Well, I did read Prom Dates from Hell – you were right. It was a great read.

    I’ve been spending too much time on other things (like my day job) and working on the WIP. It is going to get done by the end of the month. When I get the chance to read (probably tomorrow while waiting for judging results for my daughter’s music audition) I have a new Lori Wilde, Sherryl Woods, Barbara Delinski, a David Baldacchi I got in hardback from the bargain shelf $5 (not new release, but I’ve never read it), and several others to choose from. I may have to close my eyes and point at one in order to pick.

      • The first one I picked up from him was “The Collector’s”, but I noticed it was a sequel. So, I bought the “Camel Club.” I really enjoyed both of them. It was interesting to have the story set around areas I am so familiar with because of my job. Anyway, I loved both of them. I hope he takes the Camel Club into another adventure.

  5. Congrats on finishing your YA Candy….I’ve been reading a few YA’a here and there, Crushed by Fances Lynn-its about two English sisters learning who they are, Pretty Little Devil by Nancy Holder-about a group of popular girls who like to do mean pranks and some of the pranks go to far,Oh My Goth by Gena Showalter-about a gothic teenager who wakes up one day and her world has changed…….In romance,I just read Real Vampires HAve Curves by Gerry Bartlett-about a curvacious vampire who opens her own vintage shop and is trying to get some freedom from the vamp who made her a sexy Scot,I bought Kerrlyn Sparks new book and Lush by Sasha White,so I’ve got a weekend of romance before ists back toschool work and driving the kids to school next week….Spring Break is over and the sleeping in will have to wait for the summer.
    Hugs, Danette

  6. Congrats on finishing the YA! I haven’t read Maximum Ride yet, but I did read the book that spawned that one and I loved it. I may have to check it out.

    Right now I”m reading KMM’s Darkfever–it’s been in my TBR pile a month or so and just finished Jami Alden’s Delicious if you want some erotic romance. SHe’s a fabulous writer and the book is about a Rachel Ray (Rae?) type TV cook/hostess so it’s lots of fun.

    The Soppranos are back this week! And I”m really looking forward to Drive! Both of which will soothe me muchly after that end-of-season cliffhanger on BSG.

  7. What to read

    Have you read J.R. Ward’s series? The fourth novel, Lover Revealed just came out and it is fantastic!!! I love her characters! Those guys are so amazing!

    I also just finished S. Brockman’s ‘Into the Storm’. That was really good. And Jayne Ann Krentz’s latest.

    Have fun book shopping!!!

  8. What I’m Reading

    I’ve been on a historical kick this week. I read THE RAVEN PRINCE and THE LEOPARD PRINCE both by Elizabeth Hoyt, both very, very good. I hadn’t read any Hoyt, and picked up the Raven book because a lot of people on the Romance Readers Anonymous loop recommended it, and oh, my, it really was good. So I read the Leopard book which just came out, and it was good too.

    For paranormal/fantasy romance, one of the best ones I’ve read lately is VISIONS OF HEAT by Nalini Singh–her first one is called SLAVE TO SENSATION, and both are very very good.

    I could go on, but I’ll stop there.

    Gail D

Leave a Reply

