It’s Alive

Standard

I’m alive! I sent the book to my lovely editor, so it’s in her hands now. Keep your fingers crossed for me that she loves it. I want to do the happy dance that I’m finally finished, but I’m too tired. :-) Maybe when she gives the thumbs up we can all do the happy dance together.

This week I’m working on some crazy stories. One is about Sons of Hollywood which is Randy Spelling, Sean Stewart and David Weintrab, all Beverly Hills boys, getting a house for the summer and hanging out. They are also trying to make their way in the ent. world. It’s pretty much what you think it would be. I also wrote about October Road, which I happen to really like. It debuts tonight, so you might want to check it out right after Greys Anatomy.

Soooo…. My dad gave me one of those Magic Bullets and I just made my first smoothie. Pretty darn good. I’m trying to figure out different things to eat for lunch. That’s the question for today… What easy recipes do you have for a homemade lunch? Maybe on the healthful side. Or not. ;-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

10 responses »

  1. Let’s see Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese. That’s my easy lunch for today. Other easy things are Quesadilla’s – you can fill them with anything pop them in the microwave for 30 secs to a min (until the cheese is melty) or you can do them on the stove top in a pan.

  2. I’m a fan of the quick salad. Throw some of the pre-bagged salad in a bowl (I use Dole) and mix it with some Perdue Short Cuts chicken pieces. Voila! A nice healthy lunch.

  3. sushi. I get a box + an 8 oz serving of fresh fruit with a 24 oz of water for a nice lunch. sometimes edaname, too.

    buy flax or brown rice spaghetti to cook and top with a healthy close-to-homemade sauce (gotta check the fat, but many marinera types are good). This is a standard dinner for us (1/2 bag pasta, 1 standard jar of sauce with 4 servings), and I make two 1.75 cup tuperwares with the leftovers for lunches. Sometimes I sprinkle 1 tsp grated parm on top. I have been known to mix in steamed veggies but stephen is nto a fan of that. The pasta + a salad is a good meal.

    I also have taken the leftover pasta, put a tsp of natural peanut butter in there, and before eating heated a smidge. shake the tupperware and you have tasty asian peanut noodles. serve cold if you like. with the small amount of PB ends up staying healthy.

    Amy’s frozen black bean enchiladas, or her veg shepherd’s pie with a salad or something else.

    Might not work for you, but I like fiber 1 bars, in particular the oats and chocolate one. this is a nice snack.

    Starbucks has a lowfat turkey, artichoke, red pepper sandwich. 190 calories. I keep thinking the nutritional info has to be wrong. even at double the #s it is pretty good.

    2 eggo light whole grain waffles (I forget the long name, but the ones that 2=150 calories) with 1 T Skippy light PB in between. Side of 1/2 c dried cinnamon apples or pre-sliced apple pieces worth 1 apple.

    Lentils and greens.

    Thomas light whole wheat enlgish muffins. 8g fiber. use that instead of sandwich bread. Stephen likes ot make 2 egg mcmuffin sandwiches with egg and a slice of cheddar cheese.

    I try not to eat only salad at lunch. I get too hungry. I try to eat a big breakfast and lunch.

    For the bullet:
    Gazpacho
    mango smoothies if allowed. adjust as needed. Frozen mango pieces, some skim milk, low fat breyers ice cream. I mix a little instant breakfast with the milk and make it a little chocolaty.

    Your lovely cousin!

  4. You made it. I’m so glad that you got your MS out! Congratulations!

    I didn’t watch October Road, but I did watch Raine. It was a different twist on a Medium type premise. It was better than I thought it would be.

    As for an easy lunch… I am never at home for lunch and if I am I tend to skip it (which you are not supposed to do). My easy lunch when I do fix it is tuna over salad greens. Or leftover grilled chicken sliced over salad with fat free honey mustard dressing.

  5. The easiest lunch is an Amy’s entree…any of them.

    A peanut butter and banana sandwich on a whole grain bread.

    tomato soup and grilled cheese

    a low to no sugar cereal and skim milk.

  6. Oooooohhhhhhhhhhhh, I’m so jealous! I want one of those magic bullet thingies!!!!

    I’d make milkshakes in them, especially banana milkshakes. And smoothies…because I should eat healthier stuff. Healthy smoothies.

    I’d also make homemade salsa. That’s so good for you! I like the muffin-making idea they mention.

  7. congrats

    YAY! on getting the book out the door! Such a relief, I am sure. We sure enjoyed having you speak Saturday (and some of us actually wrote a few pages since then!).

    Have a good weekend ~ Denise McDonald (sorry lost my password for LiveJournal; DOH!)

  8. Way to go on getting finished with the MS and out the door!!!

    As far as healthy meals, I am a big salad and fruit fan. Found a new place for lunch the other day that served some kind of fruit salad in a halved avocado with fruit on the side. It was wonderful and very filling.

Leave a Reply

