It’s Already Sudnay?

Standard

I don’t like this Spring Forward crap. It makes me feel like someone is stealing an hour from my day, and I don’t have enough as it is. I always try to sleep late, which I actually did this morning, just to take a little something back. In fact last night was the first night in a week that I slept more than two hours at a time. I feel so much better after six hours straight.

Yesterday I taught Revision Hell to the Yellow Rose RWA folks, and they are a great group of chicks/gents (the kid I’m mentoring was there). They had their meeting at a lovely antiques shop and I had to put blinders on to get out of there. Lots of pretty, shiny things sitting around. I came back and took a quick nap. Then the hubby took me for lobster. The rest of our hot date consisted of standing at Best Buy trying to decide which alarm clock to buy. We wanted one that would hold an I-Pod but also had two alarms, as our alarms go off about 12 hours apart and we hate resetting. We ended up getting the least expensive one there and then blowing a ton on CD’s. I picked up the new Norah Jones and Fergie. Norah is for working ears, Fergie for cleaning house and exercising. The hubby picked up Connie Francis, Doris Day and Bobby Darin. I kid you not. The man is only three years older than me, but I swear he was born decades late. I actually kind of like Doris Day movies, you know the old ones with Rock Hudson, Cary Grant and the gang. But I’m not sure I’d pick up a CD. ;-) This is why that man makes me laugh so much. We ended up having a very fun night just hanging out.

I’m working on the final, final draft today and I feel like I’m in some kind of Twilight Zone episode. My brain is foggy and I keep reading things I didn’t remember writing. LOL. It’s not like I haven’t read thru the thing six times already.

Oh, I forgot to tell you about Friday. I decided to take a “ME” afternoon. I went and bought new yoga pants, two new pretty blouses, and a pair of denim capris. Thanks to my coupons I kept the tally under $100, which is pretty amazing if you know how I shop. THEN… I went to nail salon and had the SPA pedicure and manicure, and had my eyebrows waxed. I felt like a new woman!

Okay, so say prayers or whatever you do that I’m making this the best book ever. I’ll be under for a couple of days…

And I want to know some funny things…

Subway or Quiznos? (I like smushy bread and banana peppers so I’m a Subway Girl. The rest of my family prefers Quiznos). If you don’t have those sub places in your neck of the woods tell me your favorite sandwich.

And Coke or Pepsi? (I’m addicted to Diet Coke, but I’m thinking about going cold turkey. Some time in the next few weeks. I’m not sure it’s actually possible, but I’m thinking about it.)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

31 responses »

  1. I don’t find your husband’s musical choices odd at all. I love Big Band music (have since I was a teenager) and the Big Band Era was over long before I was born. :) Love the Rat Pack, too.

    We don’t have Quiznos around here, but I love Subway Clubs.

    Hate hate HATE Pepsi. But they’ll have to pry my Diet Coke out of my cold, dead hands. *g*

  2. Once I was a Dr. Pepper girl. Then I got onto Sprite and couldn’t go back. Dr. Pepper just tasted bad. Weird. Then I got onto tea, and really liked it. I’d still drink Sprite when we went out. Then I didn’t make tea for a time and went on water. When I made tea again, I prefered water!!! Now I rarely drink anything but water. It’s weird how our tastes can change over time.

    Delilah

  3. I have to have a genuine deli. Really fresh rye bread, with sauerkraut and pastrami. I LOVE sauerkraut. Favorite sandwich is a reuben, obviously. Yummy. Could eat one everyday with a side of mineral water. See, I’m really a New Yorker, trapped in Texas.

    I don’t have a soda preference. Whatever’s available will do — as long as it ain’t Mountain Dew, 7 Up, or Sprite. Yuck.

    Shannon

  4. Jersey Mike’s subs, Classic Coke to drink. Good meal, think I’ll have it tomorrow!

    I do one to two caffeinated beverages a day…have cold turkeyed before (mmmm, turkey) but I take great pleasure in the deliciousness of my daily coke.

    Oh, and it’s ALL “coke” here in TN :)

  5. I still have to set my alarm clock and microwave clocks.

    I’ve never eaten at Subway or Quiznos, but I’m guessing I’d prefer Subway, for the same reasons you prefer them.

    Pepsi, always! Specifically, Jazz Diet Pepsi Black Cherry and Vanilla Cream.

  6. plain coke. maybe DP or rootbeer, but never ever ever pepsi.

    I’ll eat either sandwich. I like different things at each. Veggie or turkey (no cheese, no mayo) at subway, one of hte low cal ones at quiznos.

  7. I hate the time change. Today was bad enough, but when I head to Washington, DC, tomorrow it will like I lost TWO HOURS! Not to mention that shows I like won’t come on until 1 hour later there. No excuse not to write then, I guess.

    I am a Quiznos person if I have to eat a sandwich. Weird story. When we got married, my ex-husband ate everything between two pieces of bread. EVERYTHING. Steak, casseroles, bacon and eggs, mashed potatoes… even at a restaurant he would take a roll and, well, you know. You get the picture. As a result, even before we were divorced I no longer wanted anything that came between bread slices.

    I was a Dr. Pepper girl forever, but I went on a diet about ten years ago and didn’t have any kind of soda for 3 months – just water and the occassional milk. Once I started drinking soda again, I liked diet sprite. I couldn’t stand diet Coke. Now I can drink it from a fountain, but not a can or bottled. My absolute favorite right now is Diet Chery 7-Up. Not regular diet 7-Up. Only the cherry will do.

    You’re doing great on those edits (I just know it :-) )!

  8. Bobby Darin fandom

    I adore Bobby Darin. I discovered him when he had a TV show that was a summer replacement in 1972 or thereabouts. Make sure your husband gets the new DVD/CD, “Aces Back to Back.” My favorite CD is “Swingin’ the Standards,” I think. Does he have the “Sail Away” album (not available on CD, but I still have it on vinyl)? That’s an acid test of BD fandom. To give you a clue how crazy we are, there are Darinfan mailing lists, and I got thrown off for some infraction or other on my e-mail signature. Bobby and Sandra (Dee) have a son, Dodd, but he says he didn’t get The Voice. Bobby sings better than Sinatra and can do more styles–just look at “Sail Away” compared to “Swingin’ the Standards” and to the singles “If I Were a Carpenter” and “Don’t Rain on My Parade” (featured in “American Beauty” starring Kevin Spacey, whom I also love for his Darinfandom, a terrible case of it that led to his making the neat but somewhat surreal biopic “Beyond the Sea” and singing all of the songs himself.) Oh, and “Live at the Desert Inn.” Get that one!

    Bobby dated Connie Francis, but her daddy ran him off. Connie never got over it. But Sandra Dee was the love of his life, and he of hers. Their story is a tragic tale of dysfunctionality (sigh).

    Just listen to Bobby holding that final note on “Don’t Rain on My Parade,” with the “hah!” at the end, and then remember that he was a heart patient with damaged valves from 2 bouts with rheumatic fever in childhood, and he had to go backstage to take oxygen between sets. But he could still voice and hold that note longer than any of today’s posers!!

    *ahem* Sorry. Anyway, if y’all ever want to know about any of the other reissued Darin albums, just ask. I’ve got ’em. And all the books people have written about him. I wish Dodd and the testamentary trust could figure out a way to release the summer replacement shows, because those were SO FAB. *sigh*

    • And Doris Day. . . .

      Catch “Please Don’t Eat the Daisies” if you can. I also want Doris Day’s wardrobe from “That Touch of Mink.” And a body worthy of wearing it.

      I’ve never gotten a Doris Day CD that had good audio quality, though. Most of the recordings are mono, and many just don’t sound good. *sigh*

  9. Loved having you again at YR Saturday. You are so inspirational and motivational with a side of kick butt which is what I need!!!

    Doesn’t matter as far as Subway or Quiznos for me. But has to be diet coke.

    Good luck on the edits. You will rock as usual.

  10. sandwiches and Coke

    I like either Subway or Quiznos, but I’m addicted to Starbuck’s ‘Tarragon Chicken Salad Sandwich.’ Between Coke and Pepsi, I always choose Coke.

    I truly DESPISE, HATE, LOATHE, and DETEST the time change.

    Have a GREAT day!

    Angela

  11. Candace we really enjoyed having you!!!

    Um Quizons–they have this BBQ salad with roast beef and bacon that’s to die for.

    No soda–nutritionists orders but for years I was a coke girl (Or IBC Rootbeer). I actually tried to drink a rootbeer about a month ago and nearly gagged it was so sweet!

  12. I’m not big on sandwiches but I like either, Subway for their small deli sandwich and Quizno’s for their crunchy sub.

    Definitly Pepsi, It’s a bad addiction,that I just won’t break.

    Always laugh, even if the joke is not funny.

    Hugs,
    Danette

  13. I loved Bobby Darin and Doris Day movies are to die for.

    I love Subway’s Veggie sub! Salt and pepper and lots of oil and vinegar!

    Pepsi addict here. I gotta get off the stuff. I didn’t drink pop for a long time and then my sister moved in and I drink the stuff all the time now because she does. Sigh. I’m thinking about going cold turkey on it. Think I can do it???

  14. Catch up time again!

    Hmm… I’ve only had Quiznos once, so I have to say I’m with you on the Subway bandwagon. And I’m a diet Pepsi girl, but I like Pepsi one the best.

    Glad yo got to have a “you” day. You deserve it!

  15. Cameron Diaz Paparazzi Bikini Pics

    [URL=http://superstarfire.info][b]Cameron Diaz Paparazzi Bikini Pics ![/b][/URL]

  16. Best prices for all

    Hi! have nice day!!! Best regards:
    [URL=http://marilyn.indstate.edu/~smitha/ultra/tramadol-and-acetaminophen.html]tramadol-and-acetaminophen[/URL]

  17. Here Online

    Hello
    Thank you so much for allowing me the opportunity to visit this site. I actually fit in this category much more than you can know.
    Bye

  18. Favorite Nail Polish color: Jungle Red. Have you ever seen the old movie The Women? Jungle Red is where that comes from. I’m a complete nail polish addict.

    Dinner – this weekend we have company that I’m uber excited about so I’m pulling out all the stops.

    Chicken and Asparagus with home made Alfredo Sauce, garlic bread, yum.

    and maybe, Champagne Risotto with baby sweet peas, sweet corn, and chicken.

    Ack! Now I’m hungry. I’d gladly cook for ya.

  19. Bosnia-Herzegovina

    The results are rounded to the nearest amount that can be expressed in coins and notes. For example, US Dollars are

    rounded to the penny and New Zealand Dollars are rounded to the nearest five cents.

    [url=http://www.squidoo.com/teeen]Fucking Teen Pussy[/url] Conversion factors generally have six significant figures,

    but some may have as few as three. Please see the sources page for information about how many significant figures each

    factor actually has. The number of significant figures in the result will depend on the number of significant figures

    in the input and

  20. Bosniak-Herzegovina

    Curriculum Vitae
    How to write a Curriculum Vitae, when you should use a CV, plus curriculum vitae samples, examples and templates.
    [url=http://www.squidoo.com/anal-movie]Free Anal Sex Movies[/url] Review our collection of free sample resumes, cover letters, curriculum vitae, resignation letters, thank you letters, letters to accept, or decline a new job, and more career-related letters you can use for your job

  21. xrumer is the perfect program for promotion!

    XRumer 4.0 is the perfect tool for advertisement!
    It’s have CAPTCHA recognizer, email verificator, and a lot of other functions…

    But. I forgot link to it :(

    Can you give me URL to the XRumer description? screenshots, etc.

    Thanks

  22. Hello all I’m new here !

    Just wanted to say Hello to everyone.
    Much to read and learn here, I’m sure I will enjoy !

  23. bvmyAHdhZY chanel hot sale CzUHqClLeg

    tFtwQcr [urlhttp://www.2012chanelbagsforsale.com]chanel handbags[/url] QWtquTxfZJfMaKFV
    zPFYargtDTwWjxdkmlh [urlhttp://www.2012chanelbagsforsale.com]chanel outlet[/url] GiksvGGbfzpudH
    FeVToZEzYg [urlhttp://www.2012chanelbagsforsale.com]chanel handbags for sale[/url] nQugdNoPvkJSIQ
    ybXmyeEyj [urlhttp://www.2012chanelbagsforsale.com]chanel hot sale[/url] eteJkBwCOhVAxmd

Leave a Reply

