Crazy stuff

Standard

What do you do to make yourself feel better? That’s the question for today. I’m in severe burnout mode. A bunch of stuff has been going on and it’s sort of all piled on top of my big head today. ;-) Doing final revisions on Like A Charm, exhausted, near tears and as you see a tiny bit whiny. Okay, maybe a lot whiny. Usually I’d pop in Mary Poppins, Underworld or Practical Magic, and eat chocolate. But I can’t be crazy with the candy any more and I’m not in the mood for any of my favorite movies. So what do you do when your feelings are hurt or you’re just tired of whatever?

My husband got our fence back up this weekend, and I actually used a nail gun. Not on him (Though there were a few testy moments when I felt like it). It was kind of cool to use a power tool and to see us all working toward something. Every time I look in the backyard I’m proud of us.

I’m working on a story about the new Travel Channel series “1000 Places to See Before You Die.” Maybe that’s what I’ll do. I’ll just open the book randomly and see what kind of places I can come with tomorrow.

I will tell you one thing that brightens my days, and that is you guys. Your comments the last couple of weeks have made me laugh so hard I fall out of my chair. (I know I have to stop with the Jack Daniels. Kidding!)

I’m a bit late with this but LIBRARY LYNN YOU ARE THE BIG WINNER FOR FEB. Email your name and address to tvscoop@sbcglobal.net and I’ll send you an autographed copy of PROM DATES FROM HELL. That’s my friend Rosemary Clement-Moore’s (readrosemary.com) new book and it’s so awesome. Yes, it’s a YA, but it’s totally cool for mature folks too.

Okay, so I’m going to go make hamburgers and then sit on the couch and pout for a couple of hours. :-) See ya.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

8 responses »

  1. I eat, which is bad. :-/ Mmmm… Cookie Dough! Also I like to go for a walk if it’s sunny, watch mindless tv, read, sleep, sometimes take a really hot shower or bath, play mindless card games on the computer. :-)

    Delilah

  2. I do what Delilah does–except I can’t stress eat (unless its’ something healthy and how much fun is that?). So it’s TV, vegetation, pouting-I think we deserve to pout as long as we don’t wallow. So go enjoy some downtime!

  3. I stress eat too…but I do have some peppermint soaking salts
    that I pour in a small tub of warm water when I really need to
    just chillax.( While reading a good paranormal,alway a plus)
    Hugs,
    Danette

  4. Watch all those damn TV shows and movies I TiVo’d while I was writing 20 pages a day! If I try to read and I’m in writing or edit mode, I just end up editing the book I’m reading. Can’t turn off The Debil.

  5. I take myself out of the house. That is the only way, or I will sit and sulk or yell at my kids – because in that mood every noise they make drives me insane.

    I am trying not to stress eat, because that is how I gained back a 20 lb weight loss in less than 6 weeks! But, that is usually my poison of choice. Although, I am really stressing about my WIP, so maybe I’ll take myself to Carrabba’s – I love their bread, dipped in the herbs and olive oil with some balsamic vinegar. YUMMMMM! It is 11pm though, so I think they are safe from an invasion tonight. :-)

  6. I guess we can all relate to eating when depressed, stressed and unhappy. We know exercise is supposed to improve your mood and ease stress, so that should probably go hand-in-hand with eating, LOL!

    I find watching stand-up comedy can make me feel better, or reading a dirty joke book (although I’ve not done that in years) or Garfield comics. I think Lynn’s suggestion of getting out is an excellent one. I personally love shopping, but that’s not practical when you’re short on money, and also a bad idea if you’re likely to become addicted.

  7. To make myself feel better…well, if I don’t eat everything in sight, I usually take a long, hot bubble bath and read a good book. Just wash it all away. Or I watch a movie. Or **gulp** I go shopping.

    April

Leave a Reply

