Thursday?

Standard

I woke up thinking it was Friday. Talk about a big bummer. ;-) It has been kind of nice this week with Steve home on vacation. (Our fence blew down in the windstorm and he’s putting it back together.) He’s been the one to get up early and take the youngest to school every day. And he just does it without my asking. I love it!

For work I’ve been doing stories on Dancing with the Stars, The Winner and Galapagos. I wonder how much it cost to go there, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a place more beautiful.

My critique partners are looking at the new book, Like A Charm, and I’m making changes as they send pages. I think I have a “real” book which is always a relief. ;-)

Shannon’s class on the write_workshop loop is going amazingly well. It’s called Rejection Hell: How to Get Through it. If you are a writer, I definitely suggest you check it out.

I’ve been doing the private yoga class with Kendra Saari, and I have to tell you I kind of like it. Did you just scream? I know, me and exercise, go figure.

So you haven’t heard much from me because I’m hard core trying to get this book edited so I can send it to my editor by the deadline. But I do have some questions for you. And a warning, some of your answers may end up in a book. ;-)

1. Favorite kind of cake?

2. All-time favorite band?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

16 responses »

  1. 1. Hmm. I absolutely love plain old golden cake with chocolate fudge frosting. It’s the best.

    2. I’d have to say I’m a Beatles girl at heart. I also love Billy Joel (but he doesn’t count as a band LOL). But my present favorites are Panic! at the Disco, The Killers, and My Chemical Romance.

  2. 1. Tiramisu! I like it with plenty of espresso flavoring, which is odd, because I don’t like coffee drinks! Well, my bf once had this drink at a place that only sold desserts, but it didn’t last long :( and it had a very small amount of coffee in it, and I did like that.

    2. I don’t really have an answer for this. I don’t listen to music all that much, even though it does affect me, makes me feel, but I’ve never gotten “into” music the way others are into it. Not to post a sob story, but I think it has to do with my parents not encouraging my interest in music when I was young. Still, I like a lot of groups, but can’t pick one as an all-time favorite. Smashing Pumpkins, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Carpenters, The Pussycat Girls, Black Eyed Peas, and Tenacious D are all bands I’ve liked.

  3. 1. I can no longer eat cake because I discovered Strawberry Cheesecake Pie. However, I used to be a fan of chocolate cake, with milk chocolate frosting with strawberries between the layers.

    2. Panic! At the Disco! is at the top of my list right now. They are so witty.

  4. Favorite cake: Whatever has “death”, “by”, and “chocolate” in the title, though the fact I’m still alive does prove something, doesn’t it?

    Favorite band: Toss-up between Prince and Chemical Brothers

  5. 1. all chocolate ice cream cake tied with double chocolate with fudge icing

    2. Do boybands count? Backstreet Boys. As for ‘real’ bands, Nickelback, Rolling Stones, The Corrs, Rascal Flatts

    ~Lis

  6. 1) My favorite cake – a Milky Way cake. Yummmm.
    2) Favorite band? Did you want a rock band or big band era type stuff?
    Rock band: Bon Jovi Big Band: Glen Miller

    Good luckl on the edits!

  7. Favorite cake: Spice Cake with caramel frosting. (of course now I make it with applesauce instead of eggs)

    Favorite band: tough one because half the time i don’t pay attention to who is actually doing the songs that I listen to. Hmmm, I used to listen to Metallica and ACDC. Linkin Park (sp?)

  8. I need to find an exercise that is good for me. My eyes and hands get the more exercise than the body.

    Faveorite cake is Red Velvet, it’ll stain your teeth red while your eating it but its just too good not to enjoy.

    All-time favorite band would be No Doubt.

  9. I need to find an exercise that works for me. My eyes and hands gret a better workout than the body.

    Favorite cake is Red Velvet, the teeth get stained red while eating it, but it just melts in you mouth its so good.

    All-time favorite band would be No Doubt.

    Hugs,
    Danette

  10. Can I mention more cakes I love? Tiramisu is my favorite, but I also love banana cake; carrot cake with thick, cream cheese icing; and Cracker Barrel’s Coca-Cola Cake (it’s rich, chocolate cake with rich, chocolate frosting), which they have as their special dessert right now.

  11. People! Strawberry cake with milk chocolate icing is the best. Hands down.

    And The Stones, man. Forever.

    Shannon

    • Oooh! I love strawberry cake, but I like it with strawberry or vanilla icing. As long as that’s mentioned, have you tried the Strawberry Milkshake Pop-Tarts? I just tried them, and they don’t taste like milkshakes to me, but strawberry cupcakes. They’re quite good, in any case. :)

  12. yellow cake (butter recipe by Betty Crocker usually b/c it is easy for the HH to make), chocolate frosting. the recipe on the side of the hershey’s cocoa can and not the store bought stuff. Made by my hunky husband who by 2015 will be tied with my mother for making me birthday cakes. May be 2016.

    I enjoy chocolate decadence, too, and Jamaica mama’s chocolate torte. But really I want the frosting.

    Homemade frosting.

    band: Carbon leaf (now) or slackjaw (no longer together). Like Gwen Stefanni, too.

    I was thinking tonight at dinner I should have told steve to come here this week. Now I am glad I did not. I have Nathan staying this week and the boys would laugh and laugh. and fix the heater. turned itself off today.

  13. Mmmmmmmm favorite cake, red velvet (from the bakery not my step-moms), chocolate cake orange filling (step-moms), carrot cake (step mom’s homemade!)…sadly I just like cake. Unfortunately I can’t eat it anymore.

    All Time fave band? OMG I have no clue–I’m such a music ho. Maybe Sheryl Crow or Stevie Nicks since she’s been around longer.

Leave a Reply

