Nashville…

Standard

Hey Gang,
I’m headed out to Nashville first thing tomorrow morning to do the Dream Big seminar for some writers there. They are flying me in, and putting me up, and I can’t wait to meet all of them. Crazy thing is, I don’t even know where I’m staying. I just know they have a place for me, and where we are going to be is really nice. For the girl who plans everything, I’m going very much by the seat of my pants this weekend, except for the classes. ;-)

I finished my final revisions on Like a Charm and sent them to Shannon. We’ll find out soon if I have a real book. If not, I’m in buckets of trouble. That’s why I haven’t been around much. I’ve been writing, writing, writing.

Tell me what you have planned for the weekend and I have a couple of questions for you…

1. Do you have an strange fears and what are they?

2. Who do you think will win Best Picture (You don’t have to have seen the films to vote)?

And if you want… You’re invited to my virtual Oscar party. I’m getting in too late to attend the big Oscar parties I’ve been invited to on Sunday, so the chicas are meeting me at my house after the plane lands for a pajama Oscar party. (Tiara’s are optional.)

So throw on your pj’s and settle in with some great snacks and we’ll chat about the fun on Monday.

Oh, and I didn’t know this but you guys can listen to my film reviews Fridays at 8:30 on kscs.com (though I may try to go early if I can tomorrow so I can catch my flight)

-C

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

15 responses »

  1. 1. Not really a fear, per se, but even though I’m diabetic and have had to take shots since I was five, I can’t stand watching people on TV getting shots or having needles stuck in them. Weird, huh? :)

    2. No clue. *g*

  2. Not much planned for this weekend. My BF and I are finally getting to our belated Valentine’s Day dinner Friday night, and then he’s off to D.C. to see a Devil’s/Capitals hockey game with his sis Saturday and Sunday.

    1. It’s not a fear so much as I just hate it and it creeps me out but….. Facepaint. You know, those people who paint their entire faces when to go to sporting events? I don’t know why, but it just bothers the heck out of me.

    2. Don’t care. I’m boycotting Best Picture because Pan’s Labrynth wasn’t nominated for it. Yeah, Best Forign Language film, whoopdie doo. It should have been nominated for Best Picture, too, because the film so just too amazing for words. If you haven’t seen it, go ASAP!

    Now, off to watch American Idol and Grey’s Anatomy :-)

  3. I plan to write, write, write this weekend. Oh, and watch the stormy weather we are supposed to have in the DFW area.

    1) When I was young feared going to sleep and not waking up. I was exhausted every morning until I was about 12!

    2)Little Miss Sunshine is my pick for Best Picture. My second choice would be The Departed.

  4. Yes, I have LOTS of strange fears, or at least irrational ones. I have panic disorder and obsessive compulsive disorder, so most of my strange fears are because of them. One of my biggest fears is having a panic attack; it’s a physical attack, an attack of fear itself. Fear is an emotion, yes, but the attack is more than emotion. It comes on like a seizure, in some ways, and most people don’t get it.

    I fear the obsessions I have when I feel “dirty,” and I’ll keep this short, but I don’t mean dirty solely in the way you think about it. If I don’t do my rituals, I feel anxious and depressed, and I can’t really describe the whole feeling. There are no words for it. But these fears take over my life.

    I fear being trapped. No matter what the fear–heights, flying (I never have), elevators and confined spaces, open spaces, it’s all about being trapped. I can’t even dye my hair, which now has some white, because I’d feel like the dye is wrapped around my hairs, “trapping” them and I’d feel like I can’t breathe. I’ve never permed my hair or done anything fancy that involves putting most chemicals in my hair, for the same reason. I can shampoo and condition it, even put mousse in it, but that’s about it. Anything I put in it has to easily wash out.

    I have no idea who’ll win Best Picture. I don’t watch the Oscars or awards shows, generally. Of course, I always hope to find a clip if Oded Fehr happens to get caught in the background on-camera (they never interview him, darn it!), but the awards shows are otherwise boring to me.

    I finally watched Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man’s Chest last night, and I can’t wait for PotC3! Then again, I couldn’t wait for it before. :)

    • Just a quick add…I just read jacardie’s response, and while it isn’t a fear, I feel kind of nauseous and faint-y to watch people getting needles stuck in their skin, too, and I’ve loved getting needles since I was a kid! (Yeah, I knew I was weird, even then, LOL!)

      When I was a kid, I used to put my long hair over my neck at night. That way, if a vampire came in and tried to bite me, I’d feel him move my hair and have a chance to fight! :-P However, now that I’ve grown up and read sexy vampire romances, I *wish* a sexy (male) vampire would break in and turn me into one, too! LOL!

  5. My plan is SNOW! 4 inch and counting. about 1″/hour right now. I oredered my 25 free off-prints. I did some science fair work Sat and have more to do today. I have a manuscript to revise and send to co-authors.

    probably needs 2 more pages, too.

    I don’t know much about the Oscars. Stephen hates watching so it does not help me much.

    I dream of people dying. that is a wierd fear I guess.

    homer is afraid of sockpuppets:) Stephen used to have clausterphobia but camping has cured him of that. Nothing too strange…..

      • I forgot, I have more fears. being wrong (beyond not liking to be wrong I could kill people and harm research. this spans my day job and the little investigators in the science fair.). Crying in front of patients. sometimes it is just watching them while sitting in the cafeteria. To see the quiet strength. the guilt from taking a vacation, then never really taking one. Wondering if I will regret not having children to devote my time to helping others. If my husband will decide 10 eyars from now he was not happy with that decision even though he made it first.

  6. Candy Havens, Wonder Woman

    I just wanted to thank you for your presentations at MCRW’s Writer Retreat. Everyone I talked to had a wonderful time. You were so inspiring and so entertaining, you have to be seen to be believed. Considering all you accomplish each day and all the hats you wear, I believe you must have an army of clones running around being you.

    Thanks again!
    Mary Varble aka Marie-Nicole Ryan
    http://marie-nicoleryan.com

  7. MCRW girl

    Candy,
    I’m so glad you figured out where you were staying (NOT in Mississippi) ;-). I SO enjoyed meeting you this weekend. Thanks for the great lessons and dish on the celebs. Have a great Oscar party!
    Teble

  8. Strange fears

    I’m afraid of sausage. Have you ever seen how it’s made? Eeeeeewwww!

    I’m also afraid of the green stuff in the bottom of my refrigerator, but I can’t say that out loud because I don’t want it to hear me. Ssssshhhh.

    Just kidding!

    Have a great Oscar party!

    Angela

  9. Thanks

    Candy, I wanted to tell you that everyone here at MCRW loved your presentations and bubbly personality over the weekend. Our chapter loop is buzzing with how much everyone loved the retreat this year. I can’t wait to read your books.

    Trish Milburn
    http://trishwrites.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

