Face Plant

Standard

You guys totally rock! You gave me some great ideas for the lists, pastries and dog names. The dog by the way, Is an Irish wolfhound so if you have any more ideas on that one send them on.

San Antonio was fantastic. The choirs were amazing and I was so proud of my guy. Even prouder that his teachers said he was the model student and was where he was supposed to be at all times, kept up with his money and was incredibly respectful. (None of which he does at home, but at least I know I taught him well.)

In between concerts we had a chance to do a little shopping. I didn’t buy anything, but we have our eyes on several pieces art. We may have to go back and get those. The hotel was great. I did have to buy some new shoes because there was so much walking which leads to….

MY MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENT… You know how I asked you guys that question a month or so ago? Well… I have a new one to ad to my list. I’m walking along at the convention center chatting on the cell to my son’s girlfriend. We were trying to figure out where the other one was so we could meet up… Any hoo one minute I’m walking… The next I’m face down on the pavement. I don’t even remember falling. One minute I was up, the next I was down. My phone flew about 20 feet and busted into several pieces. (It still works. Go figure.)

My husband and his parents were a ways back talking to some folks they knew and he says he heard a squeak and then he noticed some woman flat on the ground.

I was mortified. And then I had a hard time getting up because I busted both knees, my wrist, my ankles and my shoulder. Everything hurt. It took my husband and his dad to get me off the ground. Some kind strangers gathered all my cell phone pieces and we were able to get it back together. And we made it to the concert on time.

I’ve always been klutzy, but that was a grand show even for me. ;-)

Oh, if you’re in the Dallas area tomorrow evening… I’m doing an Oscar chat with Chris Vogner (Dallas Morning News) and some other folks. It’s at 7 p.m. at the Magnolia Theater (There in the West Village.) Everyone is welcome and it’s free!

So today’s questions…

1. Once again, your most embarrassing moment?
2. Did you see any of the nominated films for this year’s Academy Awards, and which ones were your favorites?

-C

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

  1. I’m actually having difficulty thinking of a really embarassing moment right now. I think I must have blocked them all out of my memory. Convenient thing, that. As for the Oscars, I’m a big Little Miss Sunshine fan. There aren’t many movies that make me laugh, then cry, then laugh so hard I cry, and this was one of them. Beyond that, I don’t have any preferences.

Leave a Reply

