The Weekend

Standard

Yay! It’s here. Finally. I’m headed to San Antonio to see my kid sing in the all-state choir. And to spend some time with the hubby. We’re staying down by the River Walk so it should be cool.

What are you guys up to this weekend? I have some questions for you to answer while I’m gone. You’ll be helping me with my book if you do. :-) Feel free to answer any or all.

1. What are some things you could make a odd lists of like favorite pet names, places to visit etc… (Um, keep this clean. Teens read the blog. :-) )

2. What is your favorite name for a dog? (A really, really, big dog)

3. What’s your favorite pastry?

I appreciate any and all help, and who knows, your ideas may end up in Like A Charm! :-)

Candy

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

16 responses »

  1. odd lists? I will have to think about that one

    name for a really big dog? Pistachio (contrast a name of something small with something big)

    favorite pastry? blueberry turnover

  2. 1. What are some things you could make a odd lists of like favorite pet names, places to visit etc… (Um, keep this clean. Teens read the blog. :-) )

    I make lists of my favorite (human) names all the time. Mostly first names, but occasionally last names, too, if I come across a particularly good one. Another list-worthy item is fictional boyfriends (characters from television shows or books that you have crushes on).

    2. What is your favorite name for a dog? (A really, really, big dog)

    Growing up, I had a golden retriever named Buffy, but that name has totally different connotations post-BtVS.

    3. What’s your favorite pastry?

    Not sure if it counts as a pastry, but home made ice cream sandwiches (where you bake fresh cookies and then plaster two together with your ice cream flavor of choice in the middle) are pretty much divine. My editor says there’s a place in LA that specializes in those- you get to choose the kind of cookie (still warm!) and the kind of ice cream…

  3. I’m going to Long Island to see a Devils/Islanders game with the boyfriend. Bleh. Devils. The only reason I’m going is to humor him and because my aunt and uncle live about a half hour away from Nassau Colisium. So we’re going to visit and spend the weekend with them. Yay!

    1. I have a very long list of places I want to visit before I die. My BF and I plan on getting a large map of the world to tack up when we get a place together and using color coded push pins to mark where we’ve been. One color for him, one for me, one for the both of us.

    2. I’ve always been partial to “Spike” for any size dog. It seems fitting. And it’s my homage to “Buffy, the Vampire Slayer”. I love Spike.

    3. I’m Italian, so pass over the cannolis and napolians!

  4. When I was young, I kept a list of every boy I kissed.

    Other list ideas: what comes to mind is anything using numbers. How many times one sees a hawk circling. How many times one is caught in the rain. The funny thing about counting, is that once you have the idea to start, it’s hard to stop.

  5. 1. You can make lists of anything, I’m a list-a-holic, so…baby names, places to go, things you want to do before you die, wedding ideas, wedding vows, books you’ve read or want to read, types of animal groups (like a murder of crows, plague of locusts), flowers and their usages or meanings, how many times you done some thing, etc.

    2. Mojo or Bandit

    3. Pastries..mmm..tasty. My favorite is a Profiterole. It’s puff pastry, that you fill with the ice cream of your choice and then put a honey/chocolate sauce on it. So tasty.

  6. 1. Lists? Oh, wow. Places I’d like to live, cars I’d like to own (which is pretty funny since I’m not really supposed to drive anymore *g*), famous people I’d like to meet (even ones who lived back through history).

    2. Dog names. Hmm. I’ve never had a big dog, so nothing really springs to mind. :)

    3. Favorite pastry? Cheese danish is the first thing that popped into my head.

  7. Oh, I love today’s blog. So many fun questions to answer!

    First, my weekend: Hopefully, our realtor will have more homes for my boyfriend to look at. However, I also hope to get out, preferably both days, because I’ve got three Borders coupons for 30% off one item (and you can only use one coupon per person). Plus, my boyfriend’s birthday is coming up (on the 20th), and I’m still figuring out what to get him.

    Now, your questions:

    1. I have OCD, and a lot of us with OCD tend to do good at list-making. I enjoy it, sometimes, depending on the topic and number of things I have to put on the list. Sometimes that can get overwhelming. I have lists of books I own, books I want, other items I want (wishlists/TBB lists), but I also have a list of books I want to check out that I didn’t have time to check out at the time I discovered them. These kinds of lists are hard, because they require you get back to them and sort them, update them, etc. I suppose many lists are like that.

    I have lists of favorite quotes and “keepers,” websites to check out, reminders (which I haven’t looked at in ages), and more, but I don’t think those are the kinds of lists you’re talking about. I could make lists of favorite qualities I want in a man, things I love about me (why make a list of things you hate, you know?), foods I like that are healthy (to make it easier to figure out what to eat when I want to eat junk), favorite beauty products (the ones that work best for me), favorite hotels/restaurants/services of any kind, dream vacations, what I want most in my dream home, places I want to visit that I’ve never visited, etc. I could go on and on with lists!

    2. I have lots of favorite dog names, for dogs of all sizes. Here’s probably my all-time favorite: C.H.O.M.P.S. It’s from a favorite movie of mine from the 70’s, starring Valerie Bertinelli and Wesley Eure (from the original LAND OF THE LOST). The movie is adorable, about a bionic dog. C.H.O.M.P.S. stands for “Canine HOMe Protection System.” Yeah, it’s long. But I love the acronym! The movie doesn’t get a great rating on IMDb and in TV GUIDE, but I love it.

    3. As a sugar addict, I’m hard-pressed to pick a favorite pastry. I love eclairs, pudding-filled donuts (Boston Cremes), banana cream pie, chocolate silk pie, peach pie, various strudels, cinnamon buns with cream cheese icing, and lots more. I don’t know if cakes count as pastries, so I’m not listing them, but I love cakes, to sum it up.

  8. The Weekend

    My nephew is also singing at All-State this weekend. He is a freshman in Amarillo. My sister is there attending the convention and has told me that the kids are rehearsing like crazy with very long days. I know that the Choir will be fantastic as always. Her husband was joining her there today, too.

    To answer your questions:

    1) I don’t usually keep lists, other than a “to do” list, which I usually forget to follow. But odd things… crazy quotes from my kids, good or bad commercials, the books in the TBR pile (which never lasts long for me), shoes owned, clothing items in drawers and closets?

    2) Name for a big dog? I would have to see the dog because I tend to name my pets based on their personality and demeanor. Our current pet is a Bichon named Venus. You could go for the oxymoron of Tiny. Monster?

    3) My favorite pastry is a palmier. Heart shaped flake pastry with a light sweet coating (Central Market sells them, or La Madeline, yummm). Great with tea, but kind of messy – flake pastry, you know. :-)

  9. 1. Odd lists of – clothes, shoes, movies, favorite tv shows…

    2. When I read that, I thought Clifford (ala the big red dog lol) but Tiny works too :)

    3. I like cream puffs. Trying to think of some others, but that was the first one that came to mind

    ~Lis

    • lists: ohmygod!!!….did I send you my sister’s ‘list’?? you know that list we all keep in our heads about things that will totally annoy us about out next guy?? well, being the MBA that she is, she freakin wrote it down!! it contains 68 items…and then another 12 ‘deal breakers’. oh my GOD!!!…Ghandi counldn’t make this list….it was too funny so we took it to happy hour and had a fabulous discussion about it…will have to send it!!! As far as dog names, of course the irrepressible “Shadow” come to mind, but I’ve already used that in one of my books. And as for pastery…. the fabulous cherry blintzes come to mind ….yum yum……

  10. This week-end

    Hi! This w/e I’m shuffling kids to Bowling Parties, slumber parties, and soccer practice.

    1. Odd lists: Reasons why one should never,ever eat an entire Family Size bag of Pork Rings at one time. And IF they do, DO NOT chase that down with Kiwi Margaritas!

    2. Favorite big dog name: The old stand-by Fluffy or Stella

    3. Favorite Pastry: The ultimate all-time perfect pastry is Hostess Ding-Dongs! Love those things! They are the perfect balance between creamy, sweet filling and Partially Hydrogenated Animal Fat!Yuuummmmm!!!!

  11. Hope all went well in SA! did you get to see Nathan?

    1) other than what you listed: well books to read again! or for the first time if cliff notes were involved. items to purchase in the future. quilts or baby blankets to make. cars. people who have never been in my kitchen (or dreams). furniture to buy. places not to eat. Places to eat. Places not to shop. Places within 1200 miles on a road trip in a sports car. Cities with the letter q. groceries. when to cook or bake what when in what pan and how ot rotate so you always have available pans (goes with the baking list of people and how much to mail to each one of which types of cookies and fudge and the lists of ingredients and that populates the grocery list which is amended by stock on hand). birthday lists, both of presents to buy and when they are. I have all these lists and plenty more I guess.
    The ever growing to do list

    2. Drexler:-) seriously, NBA or NFL players that are legends are good for this. even obscure legends like clyde the glide drexler. Andre. Kudjo. cliffard. fiffi:-) the 3 headed dog that guards the gates of hell is ?cerberus? Punt :-)

    3. ooh, that is hard. anything chocolate and good. If I am spending calories it needs to be tasty. simple and cheap: Those shipley’s chocolate filled donuts are good. does not have a nasty chocolate filling. cinnamon twists when I was young but hard to find a good one. churos + chocolate (the melted chocolate version of hot chocolate). I adore pecan rasin cinnamon buns without icing made with whole wheat pastry that is quite croisant like. the Mad Hatter pastry shop in Durham right by Duke Univeristy has lovely pastries.

    • I forgot, I make a list of what to buy at Nordies for the Aniversary sale every July. then I list my CC purchases so I can tally them back when visa thinks someone stole my card. I call when I leave the country and I now call before hte sale to say, yes, I will be making many many purchases, likely in the following depts, first at the Nordies at this mall then at this other mall. Most will happen on X date and it might continue, with spirts on teh following days, until the last day of hte sale. Pelase do nto hold my credit card. It is all paid off in anticipation.

      I have seriously thought of flying back to Seattle to hit the sale there. The downtown flagship and Bell Square Nordstroms are better than the nordies around DC. Yeah, I save and plan for that 2.5 week sale. This year it was sad; I barely found anything!

Leave a Reply

