The Psychic

Standard

I had the most interesting interview with psychic James Van Praagh today. He’s the guy behind “The Ghost Whisperer” and is well known throughout the world for his ability to talk to the dead. Anyhoo… As I was doing the interview he would bring up certain things in answer to questions, that I’d been wondering about for the book I’m working on. But the answers I needed for the book came when he went off on a tangent and off topic of the question. It started freaking me out a little because it was if he was tapping into something in my brain.

So we finish the interview and I tell him about the Charmed series (which he says sounds incredibly cool) and about Kria’s new book. He’s ecstatic and says a string of things in a row, that helped solve some major problems I was having. And I didn’t even ask him anything. I just told him a snippet of the story.

Now, the freakiest thing of all… I wasn’t going to do the interview. In fact, I’d already told them no. But the publicist emailed again and asked if I was sure. I thought of a way I could use the story, so I said sure I’d do it. Then there wasn’t a time that would work for both of us, and then suddenly something snapped into place and we could both do it.

I got off the phone this morning and actually cheered I was so happy after speaking to him. I can fly through the rest of my revisions because I know what to do now. And he’s such an incredible spirit, he just makes you happy about life.

Oh, and if you want to talk to him, he’s doing a chat on CBS.com Wednesday (valentine’s day) at noon Eastern. You can call into a number and James will speak to you directly. It’s so cool.

Any way… What I want to know from you today is if you’ve ever been contacted by the dead or had a psychic or unexplainable experience? There’s no judgment here, so feel free to share.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. After my aunt died when I was 11 or 12, whom I was extremely close to, she came to me in a dream. I was at her house and she was making Fritatta (something we usually only have on Easter). I looked at her a little confused, and said, “But you’re dead.” She just smiled at me.
    That’s all I remember. I think it was kind of her way of saying goodbye. I always wish I didn’t say “But you’re dead.” to her, but I think she understood.

  2. incident one) I was about 12. I was awoken by my cat walking up down my body. I sat up to tell the cat to knock it off and let me sleep, but there was no cat! Unknown at the time was that the cat had died earlier in the evening.

    incident two) A week or so after Dad died, he came to see me and ask me to forgive him. There was a long moment before i finally said I did. Then he just left. Middle Sis had his ashes. So he lived with her for a while, doing things like unlocking the doors and stuff until she set him down for a stern talk.

    incident three) I worked in a long term care facility. There was a young man in there with a condition similar to muscular dystrophy. He was ventilator dependent. He was also DNR. One night while making rounds, I found that the ventilator tube had come off his trachea. NO alarm had sounded to alert staff which was more than odd. As he was DNR, all I could do was hook him back up to the ventilator and chart what occurred. AS I stood there beside the bed, i became aware of an older man standing at the end of the bed staring intently at my patient. he stayed there until the patient’s heart rate finally stabilized and was out of danger. Then he just disappeared. I later learned that the young man’s father had died in that facility. And a family member brought a group pic of the family with my ghost in it–the father!

  3. I’m very open, but very skeptical, about psychics, ghosts, supernatural phenomena, etc. I believe it’s all possible, but I don’t believe it definitely is. I find most people who call themselves “psychics” are frauds; I’ve seen too many scams. I also see too many whose misses far outweigh the hits. On TV, they edit it most of the misses.

    I may have been contacted by the dead. I’m not sure. After my dad died, there were a couple of times when I smelled his shaving cream, and there was none, nor anyone, around. When we moved to my late grandmother’s house, all the years we lived there, every now and then, I’d hear what sounded like heavy footsteps upstairs, when no one would be up there.

    But I’m also open to it being something else. Just because I can’t explain something, doesn’t make it magick/ghosts/God.

  4. I can tell when people are pregnant before they usually know, if it will stick, and when they are about to die. I think I see the dead at times, or remember seeing something before it happens, and was honestly a bit worried about going to Savannah. There are places I sleep where I really feel like I have to form a bubble around us and say stay out, go somewhere else. If not I cannot sleep.

    the babies that stick are fun though. and it does all freak Stephen out. He knows the coming and going, but I have not shared the ghost part with him yet.

Leave a Reply

