No more school

Standard

Okay, so I’ve spent most of my life trying to stay out of the principal’s office. I managed to make it through, until I had children of my own. The first time, my oldest was in second grade and some kid was bullying him. Another good friend of his jumped in and beat the other kid up. (I still adore that kid.) I was called in because both of the boys fighting were suspended, which I thought ridiculous, since the “bad” kid, who was twice my child’s size, could have caused him serious harm. I know the rules, but sometimes they suck. By the way, the good kid who protected my son, graduated in the top 10 and has full-ride scholarships. He really is a good kid.

Then there was the ExLax fiasco with the second child in seventh grade that landed me in the vice principal’s office again. I won’t go into detail.

This week, I had yet another run-in. If it happens again, someone may be locked in the closet until he’s 21. It wasn’t that big of a deal. He needed to get out of French 3, he has too many AP classes and he was really stressed. He went to his teacher, who really believes in him and she was very reluctant to sign the papers to let him go. Then it was too late and he missed the deadline for changing schedules. Argh. So I come home from L.A. to a kid who is freaking out because he doesn’t want to flunk and doesn’t understand why the school adminstrators won’t help. Very, long, boring story that ends with me having to talk several times to one of the vice principals to get the kid switched out of French and into PE, so he can take care of that credit. A very nice person, but also very fond of the lectures. I kept wanting to say, I’M NOT A STUDENT. But I just sat and listened and had more patience than I have had in years. Honestly. Ack.

For the last 10 years I’ve thought about going back for my Masters and PhD. But I don’t think I can hack it. My friend Britta’s gone back, and more power to her. I don’t want to be told what to read and what to write.

I’ve always had one of those little dreams to teach at a university some day as Dr. Candace Havens, but I guess I’ll stick with my free online classes for now. :-)

So did you ever have to go to the princpal’s office? And why?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. Oh boy, oh boy. It was grade school that did me in. I was an angel in high school, but I was a terror in elementry school. First, I got sent to the principal’s office for talking back to the teacher– in kindegarten. (Also, I was apparently a bully in kidegarten too. I don’t remember those days, but from the stories my mom tells….) Then, in first grade, I was sent to the principal’s office for cheating. Which I did not do. If I cheated, I’d freely admit it. Hell, I did it left and right in High School, but then again, everyone in H.S. did it (at least in mine LOL) Anyway, this kid was bugging me during a test and he got caught, which ended up as being construed as “they were cheating”. Considering, I passed the test about a half hour before everyone else, they figured I was bored and bumped me up into 2nd grade English/Phonics instead. Which also ended up in weekly visits to the principal’s office to check on the “advanced” work I was doing. LOL God, I hated school. And here I am desperatley trying to finally finish my B.A. at 26. Someone help me!!!

  2. I was in first grade. A friend in second grade persuaded me to go with her to the corner store across the street from the school. She needed a notebook or pens or something for school. She had a note from her mother giving her permission to do this during noon recess. The principal was waiting when we returned. My friend showed him the note. She was allowed to return to class. Me? I got paddled in the office. I really didn’t understand. I tried to explain to him about the note. I don’t remember him explaining that the note didn’t pertain to me. I was only six for heaven’s sake.

    I do know that that I was never sent to the principal’s office again. Don’t think I was an angel. I remember getting in fights in school. On one occassion Debbie Smith jumped me. When I rose victorious from that encounter, I saw, over the top of fellow students ringing the fight (I was standing on Debbie), the principal watching from a distance. I thought that’s it. I’m in trouble now. But he just turned on walked into the building.

    While I thought this was odd, I never suspected the truth. I can be a bit naive at times. I learned later (like in High School) that my father had threatened the principal’s life if he ever touched me again. Apparently Dad thought me getting a paddling was unfair too. When I say that Dad threatened him, I mean that quite literally. A gun was involved and a large knife. Dad could be quite persuasive.

  3. Yeah, your husband was lovely dovey, ’cause he know what the son was going to hit you with ;-)~

    I don’t remember going for any negative reasons. Stephen went once to see if they could drive his car inside the school for a physics demonstration. They had already figured out how many doors they would need to remove in order to make it happen. Principal said no, might hurt the floors.

    I think many times admins want to listen to themselves. I would tell you you should have said you are not a student, but then I think of some of the blowhard parents I work with and I thank you for holding your tongue when needed and being persistent.

    I think some graduate school is needed professional training. In general, though, it is more to prove you can do it. I like my Dr. title, but unless you are dedicated and passionate about what you are doing it is not something I recommend pursuing. To anyone. People who crave it and it keeps coming to them and they have excuses not to but…..Those folks I tell them to go for it.

    I will try not to lecture in the coming months as Sci Fair gets closer. simple answers. get it overwith.

  4. Principal’s office

    I don’t remeber having to go,but I do remember going to detention,but I think my teachers sent me . I have however,just started going back to college,I’m taking an online class right now because my youngest doesn’t start preschool until fall when mommy too gets to “Yey”~frowning~ transition from being a stay at home mom to being a stay -at-home mom and student. I personally find this online class thing to be on the boring side,everytime I read for the class I get sleppy.I think I need to be in school for the interaction so I’m looking forward to being able to go to school in the fall eventhough I’ll probably have to take the basic classes,its been seven years since I’ve gone to school and my mind needs a recharge.I’m hoping for a good experience…..I don’t think I’ll be on the Dean’s naughty list.;o^

    Danette

Leave a Reply

