You’ve got to have friends

Standard

I’m so incredibly lucky to have the friends I do. Shannon, Rosemary and myself met at Starbucks last night before critique to exchange our Christmas gifts. For one reason or another we hadn’t been able to get together before the holidays. Of course, they both bought me things that I’d been pining for and when I showed them to my son he said, “That’s just freaky. It’s like they are in your head.” They are in my head and my heart. I’m so very lucky. :-)

Well, it’s a good thing I like to read. I just received a note that I’d be getting RITA books to judge for the RWA contest. I already received a bucket full of Golden Heart manuscripts for the non-published contest. I guess I better get busy. :-)

Then I received a note from my editor that the Charmed & Deadly page proofs will be here tomorrow morning. Guess I’ll be reading those on the plane Monday.

I really appreciate you guys sharing some of your favorite books.

Today I want to know if you made any New Year’s Resolutions. I made wishes, but no resolutions this year.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Resolutions

    The only major resolutions I made are to finish Minerva and the second Cuban Missile Crisis. I have the rough draft done. And I am on Chapter three of the editing process. The other resolution is to put more money into my 401k. Otherwise returement is going to suck the big one.

    Good luck on all your projects!

  2. RITA and GH! Plus page proofs. Plus work. Good grief! Lots going on. Have a safe trip to L.A. and we’ll see you when you get back.

    Shannon

  3. howdy!

    HAve fun in LA! I am in the raging metropolis of Durham, NC. Stephen is at a Duke basketball game. He has been jumping up and down all week. I am in the hotel watching ESPN to see if I see him. I have 100 science fair projects to read and a few papers to review. Book proofs are coming in the next few weeks I am told. I finished most of the review papers in the car but need to type it all up and do some more work for them. The sicence fair projects I started this morning and most of them make me cry. good projects. bad paperwork.

    resolutions. to try to be a better wife (maybe that is a wish or hope), eat better and cook more wholesome dinners (con my husband into cooking more wholesome dinners that are almost ready when I come home from work). I don’t really make resolutions.

Leave a Reply

