Oh, just stuff

Standard

Okay, so I was totally bummed because my MP3 recorder broke two weeks ago and I was going to have to buy a new one before I head out to L.A. on Monday. But last night as I lie in bed relishing lovely thoughts of my clean office, I remembered I’d bought the warranty with the recorder. Whoohoo! I came downstairs this morning and sifted thru the one foot pile of receipts for 2006 six and found it. I sent the oldest to Best Buy and he came back with a spanking new one that works. Very, very cool. This thing makes my life so much easier because I move the interviews onto my computer and control them as I write. Saves a ton of time. Now if they’d just come up with an MP3 that transcribes the interviews, I’ll be in heaven.

So what’s up with you guys? What are you reading? I forgot to tell you that I read like 11 books in four days while I was taking some time off. I’m trying to remember everything let’s see from my witchy chicks buds I read Madlyn Alt’s The Trouble with Magic, and Kate Austin’s anthology in Holiday Wishes. Kim Harrisons’ Every Which Way But Dead. Jodi Thomas’ Texan’s Reward (I missed that one somehow.) I read two books my Editor gave me when I was Berkley, both of which were really great and of course they are upstairs and I can’t remember the name or even the authors of either one. I’ll get those to you. I also read books by Linda Castillo, Patricia Cornwell, Nora Roberts and started the P.L Travers biography. Oh, and I read some YA’s that Rosemary (readrosemary.com) gave me. Peace, Love and something, and another one. Again I loved them both, I just don’t have any brain cells left this week. I’ve written six feature stories and turned in a proposal to my editor last night. So keep your fingers crossed for that one. :-)

So what are you reading, or what’s your favorite book from last year?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

8 responses »

  1. I don’t know about my favorite books from last year, but I’ll let you in on some of my all time favorites:

    Lamb: The Gospel According to Christ’s Childhood Pal, Biff by Christopher Moore
    Her Majesty’s Wizard by Christopher Stasheff
    Kim Harrison’s Hollows Series
    Anything by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
    Silas Marner by George Eliot

    I could keep going because I’m a book nut. But if you have time to chekc out any of them (and you’ve already read Kim Harrison) definately go for Christopher Moore. I firmly believe that Lamb is one of the best books ever written.

    • I keep meaning to check out Christopher Moore.

      I’m not really reading, but it’s too hard to line edit in the Dr’s office soooo I’ve been peeking at Jami Alden’s Delicious and Lolly Winston’s Happiness Sold Seperately.

      I LOVED Lolly’s first book. I love YA too so if you remember the titles, Candy …. Scott Westerfield’s Uglies, Pretties and Specials were keepers and some of the best books I read last year.

    • Lamb

      Totally agree Christopher Moore rocks!! Lamb is one of those books you laugh the whole way through knowing that you’re going straight to hell for doing so….I also read his book, The Stupidest Angel….and its one of the books I use in my novel writing class when I talk about great first lines……go to amazon.com and click on ‘search inside’ and read the first line…I love it! – Dee

  2. books

    Currently reading Not Another New Year’s by Christie Ridgway

    Just finished Full Moon Rising by Keri Arthur

    Love anything by Linnea Sinclair

    and Lilith Saintcrow is a must read

    And Candace, you are now on my must buy list.

    But since I read four to five books a week, I could not pick out a favorite one…too hard to decide.

  3. Currently, I’m reading Custard’s Last Stand by Tamar Myers. It’s a murder mystery. I’ve been on a major mystery kick lately (okay, most of the time *g*). Favorite book from last year? That’s a little harder.

    Once Upon Stilettos by Shanna Swendson
    California Demon by Julie Kenner
    Charmed & Ready by… hmm… what was her name? *g*
    I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter
    Rumble on the Bayou by Jana DeLeon

    There are probably more, but those topped the list. :)

  4. Books

    I just finished a YA book by Kelly MCClymer called The Salem Witch Tryouts,it was a nice light funny book.I’m reading Lori HAndelands, Rising Moon right now……..My favorite book of 2006 was No Rest for the Wicked by Kresley Cole, she has a really good immortal series, I love her Valkeries,it would be awesome to make lightning strike from feeling frustrated.

    Danette

  5. on the recorder issue…..

    don’t know if you’re aware, but there’s a transcription service called http://www.idictate.com….they will transcribe interviews from .wav or DSS files or even from a recording and zip them back to you in a word file in 24 to 48 hours…..I’ve been using them to dictate my novel when i don’t have access to my ‘puter……you might want to look into them when you are in a jam and really could use the files dictated….it’s like 2 cents a word for interviews and only 1.25 cents a word for regular dictation…worth it to me….Dee

Leave a Reply

