Happy New Year!

Standard

Happy New Year!!!! You guys are the best and I so appreciate you hanging out with me this past year. I hope your holidays have been full of joy. Mine were great. I promised to give you the details so here goes…

My husband was a very good boy this year. He bought me two tiffany lamps and a Kate Spade purse I mentioned once at a party. Can you believe that? I think I was more amazed that he’d actually listened to what I said than anything. And how he new exactly what purse it was, is still driving me crazy. He won’t tell. We spent part of the day here at home with my mom, dad and Grandma Irby (She’s Ms. Helen in the Charmed books) and then went to visit his side of the family at his sister’s house. (She only lives a few blocks away, so it’s not so bad.) I came back and took a two hour nap. Then I stared at my purse all night. The kids seemed to really enjoy the day and my husband was happy, so it was all good.

What are your plans to celebrate the New Year? We have three parties tonight and I can’t decide which ones to hit. I’m just grateful we have somewhere to go. We’d talked about doing another party like last year, but I just didn’t have the energy.

I’ve been chatting with the chicks from the witchy chicks blog and they gave some great ideas for wish/goal setting for the new year. I’m going to write everything down I wish would happen, anything I can imagine. Then I’ll seal it in an envelope, put it in a special box, and read it next year.

If you are a writer, don’t forget to sign up for my free workshop at http://www.candacehavens.com under workshops. We’re going to be doing Fast Draft, where you write your first draft in two weeks.

Drumroll please…. Our big winner this month for a free autographed book is PHENILA. Send me your name and address to tvscoop@sbcglobal.net and I’ll send you a copy of Evelyn Vaughn’s SOMETHING WICKED.

Thanks to everyone who participated. For January we’ll do the same thing. If you post, you go in a drawing for free books. I put your names on a list every time you post, cut them up and then draw one out o a hat.

Have a great one!

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Auld Lang Syne

    I’m headed to Denton for a New Year’s Eve bash. Family related event. Though it’s sure to be fun and crazy. You’ll have to check my blog later for details.

    Shannon

  2. new year’s

    I had to work on New year’s eve. Thus I was tired last night and fell asleep in the recliner. I would have missed the whole ringing in the new year except that my 4yo niece woke me up about 11 pm. I don’t mean that she called my name or shook me or anything. In a dead quiet house with everyone alseep, she crept into the living room and just stared at me until I jerked awake. Do you know what it like to be sound asleep and feel someone’s eyes on you? At least this time I didn’t scream. A few days ago under exact same circumstances, I screamed bloody murder and scared the 4 yo half to death before I woke up enough to realize what had happened. The poor child was screaming too. To return to last night, I knew it was the niece last night (because of the previous experience)so I didn’t scream. I just cracked an eyelid open. The niece giggled. i asked her what she wanted. She said food. So I gave her a bowl of caramel popcorn and we watched the ball drop on TV. After the popcorn, she got a bowl of barbecue potato chips. About this time she decides to go back to bed. I naturally go to my bed and sleep the sleep of the innocent. How was to know she would get in her mother’s bed? Sis got up this morning complaining about potato chips stuck on her butt and all over her bed. Happy New Year!

    And thank you for my prize!!

  3. Phenila’s eve is cracking me up.

    We stayed home for the first time since I can remember. Now I am cleaning out weevils (thank you bag o flour; it was time to clean the kitchen anyway). Trying to to be sick. Poor Stephen had a bad cold from the 26th until the 31st, one reason we stayed in.

    I am still excited over your purse:-) Happy 2007.

Leave a Reply

