Howdy Darlings

Standard

How are you guys? I’ve been in full-work mode. I’ve crammed two weeks of work into five days. My brain hurts. :-) Do you have all of your shopping done? I’m much closer to the end of it all, than the last time I wrote. My husband helped enormously. He will probably win some kind of award because yesterday he hit Dillards, Sephora, Bath and Body Works, Nordstroms, Hollister and Best Buy. All in a three-hour period. I was so proud of him and he came home with everything on the list.

Of course today he told me I wasn’t allowed to go to Central Market without him. That’s the gourmet food market here. I have a habit of spending large sums of money there on crazy things like stuffed olives, foccacia, weird fruits I can’t pronounce, etc. He’s right of course. I want to try everything and I’m a horrible impulse buyer. I’m going to try something different for Christmas dinner this year, and I’m kind of excited. Of course if it’s horrible, it will be a costly mistake. I’m going to try a roast tenderloin. Rachel Ray made it look easy, so who knows? Maybe, I can pull it off.

Make sure you check out the Witchy Chick’s blog. I’ll be posting on how I get my writing ideas a little later this week. But for the most part, I’m going to try and stay away from the computer for a few days. So I’m wishing you all a happy holiday and take care of yourselves.

Oh, and don’t forget to post. That’s how you win FREE BOOKS! :-)

Happy Holidays
-C

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

3 responses »

  1. Shopping

    I don’t think my husband ever went shopping without me! You are so lucky that yours could do that shopping for you. I have two more gifts to buy–for Mom and brother. I know what I am getting them–I just have to get brave enough to go shopping…..

  2. A few years ago my husband offered to help with the Christmas shopping and ended up doing most of it. If I write down specifically what I want then he’ll go get it. He even went to Macy’s with our daughter to buy her a Coach bag for her eighteenth birthday. I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday.

    Maureen

  3. Impressed with the DH

    I am quite proud of your husband. I will let you know Dec 25 or 26 how proud I am of mine. I see we have the same disease. I buy all sorts of strange things at the grocery store and end up throwing out way too much food then feel guilty. But it is fun and sometimes I end up with strange things far flung parts of the MD-VA clan decide they love. Then we have to get it to them:-) This explains why part of my Christmas shopping includes Trader Joes and Whole Foods (not just for the chocolate).

    We FINALLY got mini color/flavored marshmellows here. and almond bark without the almonds (not that tasty, though). It was exciting to not need to go to TX for all my baking supplies this year.

    Enjoy the long weekend dear cousin!

Leave a Reply

