It’s Thursday!

Standard

Hey Gang,
I can’t believe it’s Thursday already. :-) Whoo hoo! Okay, so I’m having one of those kinds of days. I realized something was wrong with my mp3 recorder a little late. It messed up on my interview with the American Idol producer, and with Ryan Seacrest and Jimmy Hawkins (It’s a Wonderful Life). The last two interviews were two minutes apart so I had to rush around trying to find another recorder that worked. Argh! The satellite guy was supposed to be here before noon. It’s 4:13, and he’s still not here.

All dumb stuff and I refuse to let it get to me. My kid is singing tonight and I can’t wait. So what I want to know today is what gets you in the holiday spirit? Do you have a favorite movie? Music? I’m listening to this great French Christmas CD that’s totally doing it for me. So what works for you?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

11 responses »

  1. I like listening to Christmas music, but not ALL the time. Also, wrapping the kids’ presents makes me feel glowy. :-)

    I’m trying something new this year, letting the kids open one present a day for twelve days including and ending on Christmas. Christmas will be the BIG present. That way, when we go to the family’s house in the afternoon, we won’t feel rushed. We’ll have time to enjoy all of the presents. :-)

    Delilah

  2. I’ve always been a sucker for the animated version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” and Bill Murray’s “Scrooged”.

    Oh, and any time I hear Jack Johnson’s version of “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”, I get the hugest smile on my face :-)

    • Re: Christmas Spirit

      You know what guys, Home Alone still makes me laugh. And I love all kinds of Christmas music. I’m one of those crazy people who doesn’t get sick of it, UNTIL Christmas day. :-)

  3. What gets me in the holiday spirit is trimming the tree at my parents house, we don’t have a big place so my kids get to spend time trimming the tree with their grandma,grandpa and greatgrandma. It’s so fun watching their faces light up when the trre is finished.

    -Danette

  4. We start the Christmas season the same way every year…
    After the Thanksgiving dishes are done, we play The Carpenters “Merry Christmas Darling”. Then I have to see Its a Wonderful Life at least once and A Christmas Story as many times as possible. I just love Christmas movies, books and music.

    • Christmas music, foods, movies and snow. Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be any this year, and usually here in Finland there is at least some of it well before our Independence Day (December 6th).

      Minna

Leave a Reply

