Day Two NYC

Standard

It was a long and crazy day, but way fun! I took a cap down to the financial district and met with my Editor at Berkley. She took me to lunch at this great place called Home. Great food and she was so easy to talk too. She’s given the go ahead for Kira’s story (That’s Bronwyn’s best friend) so that’s going to be the next book after Charmed & Deadly. It’s due in March so I have to get crackin’. After that, I discovered a great chocolate place, Jaques Ferrer and had some of the most delicious hot chocolate ever. AND I’M NOT KIDDING. I shared with Shannon and she was so impressed we went back and bought big tins of the stuff.

We had a tough time getting a taxi but we down by Ground Zero and went shopping at a great store called Century 21. Amazing. Betsy Johnson, Marc Jacobs, Baby Phat all for half or 75 percent off. Drum roll please…. I didn’t buy anything. I know, half of you just fainted. We went across the street to Ground Zero. It’s still so hard to deal with it. Just to see that giant hole in the ground.

We made it back to the hotel to hook up with Rosemary who had been at meetings all day on the other side of town. Then she and Shannon went to Pete’s Pub. I stayed in. (My knee would go no further). We talked until late and were very giggly and silly. I love my friends.

Today we are off to the Met. I want to see the American in Paris exhibit and I’m walking until my knee gives out. Oh, it’s been unseasonbly warm here. In fact today they are setting a record high. :-) It cools down tomorrow, but it’s been great for getting out and around. Tomorrow I head to SNL and later this afternoon I have some work stuff, but it’s been really great.

Stay warm.

-Candy

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

