Green with Envy

Standard

You guys are so jealous of me right now and you don’t even know why. Of course, I’m going to tell you. I HAVE A NEW OFFICE CHAIR! It’s like the most comfortable chair ever in the whole wide world. It’s cushy, supports my lower back and has special butt cushions. :-) My back has been killing me and it already feels better after just five minutes in this wonderful chair. The only thing that would make it better is if it had those rolling massage things.

It’s been a crazy day today. It began with me writing a cover story about John Goodman’s new movie “The Year Without A Santa Claus.” Then I met with a cabinet maker and showed him my design idea for an entertainment center and he’s making it happen. I’ve never designed a piece of furniture before, it was really cool. I forgot the part about the plasma. For months and month we’ve been searching for an entertainment center for the 42 inch. We found some, but they were mega expensive. I happened to mention at dinner last week that we could buy a new plasma and put it on an antique buffet an still come out cheaper.

Well, hello! My husband jumped all over that. We bought the new TV Sunday, 50 friggin’ inches, and then of course we couldn’t find a buffet or a sideboard for it to fit on. We were back to square one. That is until my dad gave me the name of his cabinet maker who did a wicked a good job on their kitchen stuff. Any way. In a few weeks I’ll have a huge custom cabinet with all the dvd storage I could ever imagine for about a third of the price of all the stores.

But can I tell you that we need new carpet and furniture for other rooms and a new fence, but all that went out the window when my husband saw that tv. Oh, well, at least I know he’ll get a lot of use out of it.

Anyway, I came back home, wrote two more columns, baked two loaves of banana bread and made homemade chicken fettuccine. Now I’m getting ready to go watch HEROES. Man, I love that show. And no, it’s not on the new TV. We haven’t set it up yet because it doesn’t fit in the current ent. center. ;-) And I wonder why my life is so crazy sometimes.

Hope you are having a great week and that you all get some time off for friends and family on Thursday.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. I am contemplating a largish purchase (although not that large) for Stephen’s Christmas present. hum, could that be why I am wide awake at almost 2am? probably so! I wanted to watch heroes tonight but we had football viewing instead. Hoping for time off and wellness! PS tell the singer congrats for me!

  2. I AM jealous about your new chair! I badly need one. I also need a TV cabinet, so I’m jealous about that, too. AND the new plasma TV! :)

    Wasn’t Heroes great last night? I love this show SOOOOO much!!!!

  3. back massager

    Bed, Bath, and Beyond have those back massager things that hook onto whatever chair you have. I test drove one at the store and oh wow!!!
    I’m hoping Santa will bring me one!

    Angela H.

Leave a Reply

