It’s kind of funny

Standard

It’s kind of funny. You can always tell when I’m working on something big or teaching a class online, because I forget to post here. Are you guys making the time to go vote today? You should. Last week I saw the Dixie Chick’s docu, “Shut Up and Sing,” and it was really good. It showed what they’ve been going through, but it was more fair than I thought it would be. The whole thing made me think about politics and I realized that if I didn’t like someone just because of their politics and big mouths, I wouldn’t have any friends and I’d have to get a divorce. (That almost happened the last presidential election.) The truth is, it’s your right to vote and make choices how you see fit, and I consider that a great privilege.

I never want this to become a political forum, but I do hope you’ll exercise your right to do what you think is best. Okay, on to the fun stuff. I’m working on project and teaching the Revision Hell class, and working on several stories for work. So I may not be here as often as I should, but I’ll try to get there a few times a week.

OOOHHHHH! I’m beginning a new contest this month. I’m keeping a running list of people who post to the blog and participate. At the end of each month, I’m going to give away an autographed book, and not just mine. I’ve been going to a ton of book signings. All you have to do to enter, is just post comments here. Tell your friends.

I’ll let you know the book for this month, some time next week.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

4 responses »

  1. Book contest

    Hey, Candy, Do I get extra points for being first? :)
    Thanks again for doing Fast Draft and Revision Hell. I love these concepts. My attention span won’t last for years to finish a book, so this is great. Are you coming to DARA’s December breakfast meeting?
    Have a great day! Angela H.

  2. I’ve always been of the opinion if you don’t vote, you’re not really entitled to complain afterwards. :)

    Did you catch Heroes last night? This show is so awesome!!!

  3. voting

    I make a big deal to my students about voting. ok, they are all older people, so I know they can! I always end up lecturing around the day, and usually on that Tuesday, so Monday I tell them they can skip, watch the lecture online during the week, and I will answer any and all questions, talk them through the whole thing on teh phone if needed. Tuesday I lay in big and dismiss those I cna see who have not gone. I keep thinking one year I will get called on it, but I figure as long as I am saying responsibility and voting and rights, not ‘vote this way’, I am cool, right?

    the fights are big around here, being DC. VA has the senator issue plus the unspoken one that will hit them hard. that is ok, come live in MD and make it a better place! VA had a constitutional ammendment which was ‘anti-gay marriage’ but really was not (they already had that) and it essentially is stripping rights people had or could make with leagal documents before: hits non-married hetero couples, too. Essentially, if you are unmarried everything goes to your parents. Regardless of what you document. I think that might get overturned some how some way, since it seems I should be able to decide what I want going where and who gets to pull the plug and such other lovely matters people don’t like discussing anyway. Keep waiting to see how long it takes most people to figure it out. I blame many sides for that mis-understanding, although it might not have changed the vote that much.

    Glad to see Kinky had a showing in TX!

Leave a Reply

