Bad Girl, Bad Girl

Standard

Okay, so it dawned on me that I’m a bit of bad influence, but I mean it in the best of ways. Take my buddy Rosemary (readrosemary.com). Not only do I convince her to ditch critique and go with me to BN, because I have a jones for all things pastry, I learn that I’ve influenced her in another way.

I’m so bad. Seems that since she started hanging out with me, she’s hooked on fashion mags. And loves In Style (I can spend five hours at a sitting with that magazine and it doesn’t take me that long to read most books.) I convinced her to buy the British version of the Mag, I bought the American version and we’re going to switch. :-) I’ve mentioned before that I love Sept. Vogue with all my heart. I know that’s sad and shallow, but I do.

Today the movies started rolling in for Awards season. First one up is Little Miss Sunshine. Some people love this movie, some hate it. I’m going to watch it again because it’s been like six months since I saw it.

This weekend is crazy busy. Tomorrow I have writer’s stuff, tomorrow night more writer’s stuff and then on Sunday is the Buns and Roses Tea where I’m the MC. But it’s all fun, so I’m not complaining.

DO you have any big plans? Oh, and go see all the movies this weekend, especially The Prestige before anyone tells you the big secret. I adored Marie Antoinette and my favorite movie is “The Queen.” So if you have the time, check them out.

-C

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

5 responses »

  1. I’m going to see The Prestige tonight. Yay. And I’m probably going to truck over to Dallas to see The Queen, because I don’t want to wait for it to come out on DVD.

    You ARE a bad influence. But only in the best possible way.

  2. Movies, Movies, Movies

    I’m so excited about the fall movies. On my must list: Marie Antoinette, The Prestige, and The Queen. Good to know they’re worth the trip. I definitely need to get my act together and watch Little Miss Sunshine. When I saw the previews I thought it could be a contender for top 10 of the year. Can’t believe I haven’t seen it yet.

    Way to go Rosemary on the InStyle. Except don’t you hate it when the mag is so thick you can’t read it in the tub? Suggestions???

      • Re: Movies, Movies, Movies

        On the heavy mags issue. I actually make those “couch only” pursuits. I pile two sofa pillows on my lap and put the magazine on them, so my arms don’ tire. I wouldn’t want to do anything crazy like get some exercise by lifting a heavy magazine. :-)

Leave a Reply

