Hiding Eyes

Standard

I’m hiding in the corner. You can’t see me. No, really you can’t. Why am I hiding? It’s book debut day for “Charmed & Ready” and I’m FREAKIN’ out! Ahhhhhh! It started with a great promo op with my guys at the radio station. I took them food, they treated me like a queen. They were funny, but honestly I can’t remember a word any of us said. I just hope it gets people to buy the book, and show up at the signing. So then I go get my hair colored, and coiffed. I look quite dazzling. Then I came home to work. And… I accidentally checked my Amazon and Barnes & Noble numbers. (My fingers slipped.) They weren’t awful, but not what hoped, so now I’m hiding in the corner…

While I’m here I might as well tell you about fun stuff over the weekend. I read two great books Bad Kitty, by Michele Jaffe. SOOOOOO funny. I mean it. My friend Rosemary (readrosemary.com) recommended it, and she’s tough on books. She was right about this one. I laughed out loud and for so long, I couldn’t breathe. And I read it straight thru.

I also read Sunny’s new book Mona Lisa Awakening. I read it because she’s doing an interview for the blog in a few days. Honestly, I was going to read the first couple of chapters and fake the rest, but she totally sucked me in. It’s very, very sexy and another fast read.

I was so sad about Steve Irwin. You guys, I’d interviewed him a couple of time and he was so earnest, loved what he did and was totally smitten with his wife. Just a very good soul.

So me and my cauliflower are going to back to the corner to work. Tell me happy things people. Oh, Oh, Oh! I forgot to tell you. I bought the greatest pair of leopard print boots. I mean it, the best ones ever. I’d post a pic on here, if I could friggin’ figure out how to do that on here. So spill it people. What did you do this weekend?

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

7 responses »

  1. books or boots?

    Either sounds interesting.

    When I ordered on Amazon in mid August and got:
    Delivery estimate: September 20, 2006 – September 22, 2006.

    Not sure what is up with that. Might not be able to wait!

    I bought a new keg, quickly picked up the house, and had my in laws over on minimal notice . On Monday afternoon:-)

  2. Numbers

    sorry about the numbers. I did not get a chance to get out and get my book yesterday. I have a sick little one at home. I am hoping to get out today. Hope the numbers improve today. It might take a little while, but you are a great authur and you will be a favorite to many many people. good luck.
    Misty

  3. Charmed and Ready Kicks Serious Butt

    I loved this book, read it in four hours. I really like the charaters you have created here. Keep up the amazing work. Also one question, do you think you might ever write a series about Simone and her demon slaying? I like her charater and would love to see more of her.

    • Re: Charmed and Ready Kicks Serious Butt

      Thank you! I don’t know who you are, but could you email my editor and tell her that you want a Simone book? :-) I have a proposal for Simone’s story on her desk. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

