Offended?

Standard

I think I’m offended. Really. My friend Georgette at Barnes & Noble was kind enough to send me a copy of Romantic Times. I already new about the review for CHARMED & READY, and it’s really great. The shocker was they considered the sex in my book “Mild.” That’s crazy. Did they read the scene on the couch? Well, actually it’s over a couch… I know books are hotter and hotter these days, but I wouldn’t consider mine to “May or not include lovemaking. No explicit sex.” Let me tell ya folks, I got me some explicit sex in there. ;-)

So a couple of the reviews are trailing in Harriet Klausner’s review, hers run all over the place, is a good one too. You can read it at http://www.bn.com and keyword Charmed & Ready.

And did I tell you guys about the one on fresh fiction? You can check it out at freshfiction.com.

My first check for the new contract came today. That’s always fun, and a nice surprise amid all the craziness of this week. I mean, I was actually thinking of taking up alcoholism as a hobby. I know, that’s not funny, but seriously haven’t you had days when the mind-numbing effects of a bottle of Jack Daniels seem extremely appealing?

Don’t worry, I’ve no intention of becoming one. It’s too expensive. No, instead I’ve indulged in my latest addiction — chocolate frosting. I actually had a dream about it last night. When I baked the cake last weekend I had my oldest pick up a can of chocolate frosting, just in case my from scratch tastiness didn’t make the grade. Well, mine rocked. :-) So, the can has been sitting in the pantry for the last four days.

Until today. I tried, really did. I grabbed the yogurt, and a banana and … well, I decided calorie wise it was probably best just to taste the frosting. Half a can later… I don’t want any, any more. Well, at least for today. :-)

So what foods set you off on a binge, what comforts you? I’m curious to know…

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

9 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to read CHARMED & READY!!! I really loved DANGEROUS! :)

    indulged in my latest addiction — chocolate frosting.

    You say that like it’s a BAD thing. LOL! Sounds delish to me! Oh, great. Now I want chocolate. Do we have any in the house? Of course not! Thanks. *grin*

  2. Sugar free cool whip is a giant trigger for me right now. And I want it on top of things. It doesn’t sound like much, but I was up to 3 tubs a week. My favorite comfort food is toast…any kind of bread.

    And it’s very funny that you brought this up tonight, as we just arrived home from weight watchers and the leader was talking about the same thing!

    • Oh my gosh, when I was on the high protein diet I would eat tubs of Cool Whip too. It started so simple by putting a small amount on my sugar-free jello. The next thing I knew the jello was the topping. I’m very fond of toast, but with butter and if there’s strawberry jam or perserves around, I can eat a whole loaf. :-)

  3. I’m trying to lose weight — again — so right now my comfort food is hot chocolate. Stupid, right? when the temp outside is 105. But unsweetened cocoa with Splenda and fat free milk rocks!

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

