Home again, home again

Standard

You guys, thank you so much for all of the support!!!! I didn’t win the RITA’s but it was an amazing and wonderful night. One of my loveliest and dearest friends, Jodi Thomas, won in her category and she was inducted into the Hall of Fame. The happy tears were flowing big time!!! In fact I can’t remember a time I’ve been so happy for someone else. She is one of those people who cares, genuinely about every one she meets. The first time she met me, she listened to me read the first chapter of Charmed & Dangerous. When I was done, she paused for a moment and then said, “You’ll be published within the year.” She was right. She also introduced my agent to the woman who would later become my editor. She’s just that kind of woman.

Back to me. I had the most fabulous RITA dress. Feathers across the top, and the dress was black and velvety. And I felt like a total diva. It was a great conference and I had several wonderful meetings. I learned a lot. And made some new friends. The night of the awards, I knew I wasn’t going to win. I just knew it, so when the names came up, it wasn’t bad at all. To be in that crowd and to be one of the cool kids, really was enough for me. My husband joked that if I’d won we would have had to hire security because people couldn’t believe I’d hit so big with my first book. :-) It was good he was there too because he got a real feel for how big it all is and important.

The only really pathetic thing for me, is I’m still afraid to talk to Nora Roberts. I know, I know. I’m the chick who can talk to any celebrity… But for some reason I can’t get the courage to even say hello to her!

Okay, so onward we go. Many, many events coming up. You need to check the website often. I’ll have most of those posted by the end of the week. Now I must go through the mail, which is thigh high, and the 30 Fed Ex boxes (I’m not kidding) that came while I was gone this past month… Or maybe I’ll just go get some Mexican food. I need a fajita fix ;-)

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

