Press Tour Day 12

Standard

It was NBC’s second day and it began with football. I like John Madden and Al Micheals so I sat in, even though I could care less about football. I am worried my husband will try to cancel our Christmas day trip because Dallas is playing Philadelphia. (How did I get so lucky?) Any way… Tina Fey was here with her new comedy 30 Rock, which is another show about an snl like show… The other one Studio 60 is a drama, but the same kind of thing. If I had to pick one, it would be the drama. It’s awesome.

One of my favorite new shows is Heroes and the whole super hero gang was here. Adrian Pasdar is in it, but he wasn’t very talkative. I’m sure he gets tired of Dixie Chick questions. Don’t think it’s a Justice League kind of thing, because it isn’t. There are people who suddenly have weird abilities and have a difficult time knowing what’s going on. The Friday Night Football gang was here. Kyle Chandler and Connie Britton are in that one. I chatted with both of them at the party tonight (It was 111 degrees,and I’m not lying). They promised the show wouldn’t make everyone in Texas into idiots. We’ll see. I never did get to talk to Jason S. about his new show Kidnapped one on one, but I did get several questions in during the session. He’s also another favorite.

The party was extremely hot, but productive. I was able to talk to several stars including Matthew Perry, Linda Cardellini (sp?), Caroline Rhea, John Lithgow, and I saw John Stamos, but by the time I had the energy to get up and interview him, he’d disappeared with some girl. Tomorrow’s our big TCA awards. That’s where we pick the best television has to offer and honor them. It’s basically an excuse to dress up.

Oh, it’s exactly one week from tonight that the Rita’s take place. Remember to think happy thoughts for me and everyone else who has appeared in the blog. :-) Stephanie Feagan is my final interview for the blog, and I think she’s going to wrap things up quite nicely for us. She’s a hoot!

1. How did you find out about the RITA nomination?
(Where were you kind of thing, and how did you react?)
 
I’m on the RWA board, which means I got to make Golden Heart calls – one of the perks to serving on the board!  I had a call from the president, Gayle Wilson, at 7:30 a.m., and I thought she was calling to remind me to tell the finalists something.  Instead, she said I finaled.  I said, “No way!”  She said, “Yes, way!”  It was surreal.  It’s already a trip to call Golden Heart finalists, but that made it even more fun!

2. How did you come up with the idea for your book?
 
I’m a CPA and a friend of mine kept telling me I should write a CPA story.  I said, yeah, right – CPAs are boring.  Then the Enron scandal happened and I thought, man, that’s not boring!  So I wrote SHOW HER THE MONEY, a novel about a CPA who blows the whistle on her firm and their biggest oil company client.

3. This is always hard, but what do you think makes
your book distinctive?
 
Well, it’s about a CPA – and she’s anything but boring.

4. Do you have your dress picked out yet? Tell us what
it’s like. Shoes?
 
Just gutted it up and bought one yesterday.  It’s a flimsy gold fabric.  The shoes are gold.  My 21 year old daughter says I look like an ancient Egyptian.  Well, except for the blond hair!

5. Are you nervous about it at all, or is it just cool
to be nominated?
Not nervous at all – I’m still blown away that I was nominated.  I finaled in the Golden Heart three times – never won – so I’m not unfamiliar with sitting out in the audience, wondering if my name will be called.

6. Have you read any of the other books in your
category and what did you think about them?
I’ve read three of them.  Let’s just say, if I don’t win, it won’t be a fluke.  Dayamn!  Those are some awesome books! 

7. This is your free promotional moment, tell us what
you have coming up…
 
The third book in the Pink Files series, of which my finaling book was the first, was out in April and is still available on-line.  It’s called RUN FOR THE MONEY.  I have another Bombshell out next year – BLOWOUT – about a petroleum engineer who kills oil well fires.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

