New stuff

Standard

You can always tell when I’m working on new books, because I forget to blog. For the last two weeks I pounded out the Caruthers Sisters’ proposal. I love that story. It’s very cool. This week I’m Fast Drafting the third Bronwyn book “Charmed & Deadly.” I’ve waited so long to write the book and I’m having a lot of fun revisiting Bronwyn and her pals. Those of you who love her and want to know something about her past and what makes her tick, are going to enjoy this one. I don’t want to give anything away, but you’ll see first hand where her distrust of warlocks come from, and you’ll understand.

Let’s see. The NOLA Stars workshop on Saturday was canceled because of weather. We had already driven half way to Shreveport before we received the news, but it turned out well. We had dinner with my husband’s parents and some old friends we hadn’t seen in ages. Then we came back on Saturday and I spent a lot of time watching old movies and plotting books. I also finished judging the Golden Hearts. If you don’t make it, do not despair. The competition is tough this year. :-) I had no stinky entries, and usually there’s at least one. Oh, Britta and I had a terrific turnout at our Dream Big, Write Big seminar last Thursday. A lot of great people showed up and I hope we gave them at least a few nuggets to take away.

This week I’m also working on stories about “The Sopranos.” Julia Louis-Dreyfus has a cute new comedy on CBS, and there’s something else, but it’s totally slipped my mind.

Speaking of short-term memory loss. Does anyone remember if I ever mention the name of the wizard Garnout’s shop in “Charmed & Dangerous?” I remember thinking I needed a name, but couldn’t find it in the book. Then I thought maybe it was in the second book, “Charmed & Ready,” but I didn’t see it there. So, if you know the name, or have a good idea for one and I use it, I’ll also put your name in the book if you like. :-) Sleep well my friends.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

