Wow!

Standard

So much has happened since I last posted. I talked with my lovely editor on Thursday. We did a little brainstorming and she’s interested in some of my ideas. Very cool. She also told me about some authors to check out and I most definitely will. She’s the one who got me hooked on Charlaine Harris and now Jim Butcher, so I’m looking forward to reading Patricia Biggs, Anne Bishop and some of the others she suggested. On Friday morning I had a meeting with Hillary Sares from Kensington. My critique group brought her in, and I really liked her. She’s funny, intelligent and had some interesting things to say about the publishing world. We all had lunch Friday and then I attended another lunch on Saturday. One thing that she told everyone during a workshop on Saturday is something I’ve been preaching for a long time. Don’t edit while you are writing. Just write. She told me she’d be interested in seeing anything I had to send her, which I really appreciated after the last few weeks of heck that I’ve had. It’s Monday and I’m spinning my wheels, but I guess it’s time to write. Oh, if you have the time, please go vote for my friend Kern Coleman. (Britta Coleman’s (Potter Springs) husband.) He’s finally entered a writing contest, and he’s a talented guy. Read that hook and you’ll know it for yourself! http://www.dfw.com/mld/dfw/entertainment/special_packages/book9/ Kern is No. 243

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

  1. Kern the talented guy

    Candy, you rock. And not just because you mentioned my talented husband, or that you love sushi, or that you appreciate the value of a truly exquisite pair of shoes.

    Love the blog, love you.

    Britta

  2. If you haven’t already..also check out Kim Harrison and Kelley Armstong!! Both wonderful writers of witches and paranormal worlds.

    ~Sasha White

Leave a Reply

