Wednesday Fun

Standard

Gena Showalter is one of my favorite people in the world. She’s wicked funny, smart, beautiful and one of the best writers I know. Her stories captivate the reader from the beginning and she never lets you go. I had a chance to talk to Gena recently, and here’s what she had to say:

1. Tell us about the upcoming Jewel of Atlantis?

All of Atlantis seeks the Jewel of Dunamis, which legend claims can overcome any enemy. Gray James, human agent of the ultra-secret Otherworld Bureau of Investigation, has orders to keep it from the wrong hands – or destroy it. What he doesn’t know is that Jewel is a woman, not a stone. But once he meets this precious gem, destroying her is the last thing on his mind. . .

Jewel, part goddess, part prophet, is a pawn in Atlantis’s constant power struggles. She needs Gray’s help to win freedom and uncover the secrets of her mysterious origins. Gray needs her wisdom to navigate monster-ridden Atlantis. But need blossoms into passionate love as they fight demons, dragons, vampires – and a prophecy that says the bond between them could destroy them both.

2. What was the inspiration behind these two very strong characters?

Gray James first showed up in The Stone Prince as the heroine’s irreverent brother. I adored him from the moment he stepped onto the page. He’s tough and sexy and he has a dry, quirky sense of humor that slays me. Jewel’s character was born the day I saw a lovely, haunting picture of a woman draped in a white toga-style dress, the wind blowing, her hair whipping around her face. She stared out at me and there was such an air of mystery about her that I knew I had to tell her story.

3. So when you were thinking about the hero, did you have an real-life person in mind?

I’m probably going to get into trouble for admitting this, but yes. I did. Gray’s sense of humor reminds me so much of my husband’s. It’s a flippant, sometimes in the gutter, say it like it is wit that never bores! I never knew what was going to come out of Gray’s mouth, but thanks to my husband I got to “borrow” some real gems.

4. When does the book debut? February 1st, and I can’t wait!

5. What else do you have coming up? 2006 is the year for more. After Jewel of Atlantis, Awaken Me Darkly (March) is being released as mass market. In May I have two books coming out. Enslave Me Sweetly, the second alien huntress book, and Animal Instincts, my first contemporary romance. In July I have my first young adult, Oh My Goth, and my first anthology, Mysteria, with PC Cast, MaryJanice Davidson and Susan Grant. In September, I have the first of my Extra Ordinary Girl series, Playing With Fire, about a woman who develops unexpected superpowers.

I can hardly wait for all of these to come out!

6. You write some of the best love scenes in the business. Do you do a lot of research for those? ;-)

Thank you so much! What a wonderful compliment. To answer the question: lots J

7. Who are some of your favorite writers and why? Karen Marie Moning’s books are simply magical to me. Every time I pick up one of her books, I forget that I’m a writer and simply enjoy being a reader. Same with PC Cast and Deidre Knight (who happens to be my agent and a dynamic writer). For humor, I read Jennifer Cruise and Susan Elizabeth Phillips. And I have to say, I’m dying for the next Candy Havens release! You’ve got the sense of humor I so adore. For suspense I read Linda Howard. For a white-hot, passionate read, I go for Jill Monroe. For historicals, I love Kresley Cole (she has a new paranormal series coming out that I want, want, want!) and Gaelen Foley.

(Candy hands Gena a $20 for the kind compliment)

8. What’s the one thing you hope people take away from Jewel of Atlantis?

A good time, no doubt about it!

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

One response »

  1. That sounds like a great book, another author I can look for. By the way, when does your next book come out Candy?

    Sara Thacker

Leave a Reply

