The Coolest Chick

Standard

Angela Knight is a cool chick. She’s kind-hearted and friendly, and also bold and says what is on her mind. I met her for the first time this summer at the RWA Berkley signing. She was the one person who made me feel welcome and she introduced me around. I’ve been a fan since.

Then I had a chance to pick up her book “Master of the Moon.” It’s about a small town cop, who happens to be a shape-shifting werewolf tracking killer vampires. The book is sexy, clever and I loved it.

1. How shall we refer to you for the rest of the interview? Supreme Being, Your Royal Highness or
Hottest Chick in the room?

I prefer Diva of Smut.

2. Diva of Smut it is. Tell us about your books “Mercenaries” and “Master of Wolves,” and anything new you have coming up.

Mercenaries is a Berkley anthology of three of my futuristic romance novellas, two of which were published by Ellora’s Cave. I doubled the first of them in length, then wrote a completely new novella for it. The story revolves around the crew of the starship STARRUNNER. In the first story, Trinity, a young woman trying to escape from a planet of religious loonies takes on Captain Nathan August AND his first officer, Sebastian Cole, to prove her determination. In the second, Sebastian goes undercover as a submissive on a planet of sexual dominants to rescue a captured prince. In the third, Cassidy Vika fights an erotic battle with a handsome enemy warrior.

In my next Berkley novel, MASTER OF WOLVES, werewolf Jim London goes undercover as a police dog to find out who murdered his best friend. He strongly suspects the cops of a small South Carolina town are involved — thus the K-9 disguise. But when his cop handler turns out to be a beautiful woman, Jim realizes catching a murderer is the least of his challenges.

3. You used to write comic books. Are you tempted to turn any of your characters into superheroes? All the time. In fact, I did that in a short story called “Hero Sandwich” in the HARD CANDY antho from Loose Id. I always wondered what it would be like to be in a threesome with a Batman and Robin. These two aren’t Batman and Robin, but they’re pretty yummy. My heroine is a former supervillain sidekick gone straight. Lots of kinky fun is had by all.

4. Okay adding another one to the “must buy” list. What’s the best part about writing fiction for you?

Getting to fantasize about sex and adventure with incredibly hot studs, of course. Heh!

5. Why do you believe Erotica has become so hot in the publishing world?

I think that publishers are looking to court a younger audience who are less hung-up when it comes to sex. So they’re doing that with hot stories.

6. How do your stories come to you and what is your writing process? Do you sit at a desk, or move around?

I basically sit around and think, “What haven’t I done, but would like to do?” I usually work on my laptop sitting on the couch, but often I take my Alphasmart word processor out to the park and write. I like being outside.

7. You write, sci-fi, paranormal and futuristic do you like building other worlds?

Oh, HECK yeah. I’ve been reading romance for a looooong time, so I’ve read all the standard stuff. I want to explore new worlds, seek out new civilizations, boldly go where no…

Ahem. Former Trekie.

8. When you first made the USA Today list how did you react?

Dumbfounded astonishment? My editor called and told me. It was
Master of the Night, and it was only for a week or so, but still! My
Third book made the list! Wow! Since then, Master of the Moon was on for three weeks, so maybe it wasn’t a fluke.

9. What would you like everyone in the world to know about you?

I’m not really a kinky pervert…. I’m lying. Yes, I am.

10. You are known for speaking your mind, but do you ever find yourself saying things through your character you could never say in real life?

ALL THE TIME. I’m the biggest wuss in publishing. My characters say all the snarky stuff I think of, but don’t have the guts to say.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

