Thursday

Standard

I think I like Thursdays. That means it’s almost Friday and that’s a good thing. I’m still in a bit of a fog, could be the steriod shot and the drugs. Long story. Tell ya later. So, the most exciting thing this morning was a lovely email from my wonderful editor with the review from Romantic Times. She took the time to type it for me, since there are no copies to be had here. It was so exciting. Four and half stars and the reviewer said some really lovely things. I kind of hoped that people would get that this book, “Charmed & Dangerous,” is a little more, maybe a little deeper, than they might expect at first glance. So far, they’ve all picked up on it. Georgette R. from the NRH Barnes and Noble called to confirm my pre-release book signing party. Very exicting. We’re doing it 3-5 on Saturday, Sept. 3. I love working with that woman, she’s all about the artist. She also said very nice things about the book, and she picked up on the women empowerment theme. Very cool. Life is really busy, kind of chaotic, but I think I like it that way. I keep telling myself one more page, or one more story and then I can go read. I have Mary Janice Davidson’s latest downstairs. (God, that woman is hilarious.) And Janet Evanovich upstairs. (Equally funny.) I finished P.C. Cast’s “Goddess of Light” right before leaving L.A., which was good because I met her in Reno. Very Cool. I didn’t really get to talk about the Berkley party. It was very cozy. (Read major understatement here, but I was so glad to be invited you’ll never hear me complain.) But I saw so many great writers. Jodi Thomas, my mentor goddess, went with me and Sha-Shana so I wouldn’t walk in alone. She is like the most incredible woman ever. Check out her latest, “The Secrets of Rosa Lee.” That woman writes characters like nobody’s business. If you ever get a chance to go to one of her classes, do it. When I grow up, I hope to have the loving, caring heart that Jodi does, and she’s so inclusive. Okay, back to the party. Nora Roberts, Christine Feehan, Karen Robards (Totally cool chick) were there and… blank brain. Oh fun, the drugs are kicking in big time now. Came home with a nasty sinus infection, no big :-) Three weeks of headaches should have given me a clue. I better stop typing, never know what might come out of the drugged mind of Candy Havens. You may have noticed her clear-headed efforts can be pretty scary. Did I mention that Evelyn Vaughn won a Rita for A.K.A. Goddess. One of the best books from last year. Peace Out.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

Leave a Reply

