Home again, home again…

Standard

The laptop and the hotel Internet access decided they no longer liked each other and I went days without being able to check e-mail or post. It was awful and enlightening at the same time. Since we’ve chatted last I’ve missed Hugh Laurie, thanks to a snafu with flights. Spent a good part of my weekend doing my best to meet 1500 romance writers at their convention in Reno. And discovered I do have a new level of tired. Totally gorked out (a phrase I steal from my friend Rosemary) tired. That’s what happens when you take too much dramamine and don’t sleep for weeks. I feel somewhat sane tonight, but for the past 72 hours, it’s felt much more like the Twilight Zone than I’d like to admit. All you need to know about Hugh, is I missed hanging with him, because I’m an idiot. There is no other excuse. But… I met the most incredible people this weekend. I can’t possibly mention them all here, but here are some sites for those in writer mode: http://www.romancedivas.com Don’t let that name fool you. These chicks are hardcore writers and they have some great info on their site. They are making me their September Author of the Month, which totally rocks! I also met the folks at romancejunkies.com another fab site. Check them both out. Georgette at the North Richland Hills Barnes and Noble has moved my book signing to Sept. 3, at 2 p.m. Please mark the date. It’s the first signing for “Charmed & Dangerous.” For you Alias fans, my essay “Sydney & Me,” is in the new anthology “Alias Assumed: Sex, Lies and SD-6.” Kristen, Jax, Lisa, Shannon, Rosemary, Andrea and the rest of the gang, thanks so much for making it a great weekend. I wouldn’t have survived without you. :-) And Gena S., wherever you are, I’m so sad I missed you. Oh, and the best thing that happened this weekend is one of my dearest friends, Britta Coleman, the fantastic author of “Potter Springs,” won the Lone Star Scribe Award. And my mentor/goddess Jodi Thomas won the National Book Award. Surround yourself with incredible people and you never know what might happen. Peace Out.

About Candace Havens

Bestselling author Candace Havens has written six novels for Berkley including, Charmed & Dangerous, Charmed & Ready, Charmed & Deadly, Like A Charm, The Demon King and I and Dragons Prefer Blondes. Her new venture is writing for the Blaze line of Harlequin. Those books include Take Me If You Dare, She Who Dares, Wins, Truth and Dare, and The Model Marine. She is also in the anthology Spirited, and the proceeds go to help literacy. Her books have received nominations for the RITA's, Holt Medallion and Write Touch Reader Awards. She is the author of the biography Joss Whedon: The Genius Behind Buffy and a contributor to several anthologies. She is also one of the nation's leading entertainment journalists and has interviewed countless celebrities including Tom Hanks, Nicolas Cage, Tom Cruise, George Clooney and many more. Her entertainment columns can be read in more than 600 newspapers across the country. Candace also runs a free online writing workshop for more than 1800 writers, and teaches comprehensive writing class. She does film reviews with the Dorsey Gang on New Country 96.3, and is the President of the Television Critics Association.

2 responses »

    • Re: Hi from Kristen

      I was just telling someone how much I dig you guys! It was great to meet you too! And I hope you are right about the book. I have a feeling things are about to pick up big time for you too! You are the networking queen. :-)

Leave a Reply

